Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't have chedder cheese so i used velvetta and this is so yummy and so easy , will make it a regular at our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family really liked this dish. Real comfort food. Thanks for sharing this and I loved the video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I used the dish it called for, but in doing so, was unable to make all of the layers! I topped with just a little bit of bread crumbs and it was amazing, even microwaved the second time! I think next time I will use an 8 inch square pan instead! Oh, and just a little heads up, even on heat setting three, it took a little while for it to start to thicken up, but hang in there, it's totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Eggs gave the cheese sauce a weird, lumpy texture. Wasn't horrible but wasn't good either. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Just like what Grandma used to make! If the other reviewer had lumpy sauce they didn't culture the eggs as instructed 1 Tablespoon at a time. I have been looking for a Mac n Cheese recipe like my Grandmother made and this is as close as I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My boyfriend is a very picky eater but he loved this mac and cheese and I even forgot to add the second can of milk and added two bags of cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I love this recipe because there is not many ingredients and just so happened to have them on hand while in a hurry to make a side dish!!! My family LOVED it! I have several different recipes for Mac and cheese but I do believe this is the best one!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Finally back to review this one mainly because I am making it again and making some changes. My family loved the original recipe. This time I changed the cheese a little by using two cups of real cheddar and two cups of velvetta. At the end I added a bit of shredded colby jack and bread crumbs to the top. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I would give this a 5 starminus the eggs. I'm from the south and use velveta cheese in replacement of the eggs I boil the velveta with milk in a sauce pan until its thick creamy. Than I pour the sauce over the half cooked macaroni be careful not to fully cook the shells. its going in the oven and will be overcooked. I like monteray jack and mexican cheese with this recipe. or if your not a yellow cheese person try this recipe with the 5 white cheeses of your choice makes a whole of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
It's real good however I need an alternative to using eggs, at least for me. My ladies can't eat eggs so they didn't enjoy it as much as I did. Still great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EddyStrutless

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lead, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States