Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Did not care for this at all! We ended up throwing about half of it away. I followed the directions exactly.. Was just bland and not good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Taste great but more work than is needed in MHO. My family recipe is very much the same, but instead of all that work, you just cook the noodles al dente, then layer with: first a little cheese, then noodles, salt,pepper, pats butter, layer of cheese. Continue layering until at the top of the dish. Wisk the eggs with the milk, then pour over the entire top. (Depending on depth of dish, may not have enough liquid,but then just mix up more eggs and milk. Liquid should be showing about 3/4 inch below surface of cheese/noodles. Bake and enjoy! This has been a family recipe for years, and so delicious and easy! (I actually have been substituting skim milk, and also evaporated skim milk, and works just as well. Regular skim milk just needs to cook a little longer until bubbling and can tell it is finished when center, when pulled aside by a fork, is not "milk" consistency but rather looks like half-cooked scrambled eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm sharing my review only because it may help others to learn from my mistakes... This was a big fat fail for me unfortunately. I'm just thankful I didn't prepare it for company. I have always been curious about egg based mac and cheese and decided to give this a try. I used 1 can of evaporated milk, and 1 can milk/cream mixture. Mistake #1? I used a mild cheddar cheese - maybe my cheese wasn't a very good melting cheese...Mistake #2? My egg/butter mixture looked fine when I mixed in the macaroni, maybe just slightly lumpy. But once I layered and baked it it came out awful... not creamy or cheesy at all. The macaroni looked plain boiled pasta alongside chunks of ricotta cheese lumps. It was a sad waste of 4 cups of cheese. I did follow the directions to temper the the egg mixture, really took my time with that, but I may have messed up waiting for it to thicken as I let it bubble for a minute while re-reading the recipe. Mistake #3? Well all these mistakes resulted in a tray of unsalvageable pasta. I am going back to my usual roux based macaroni and cheese. It seems more forgiving and always provides the creamy cheesy dish I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I am not an expert chef, but I enjoy cooking, watch a LOT of "Food Network" and consider myself a fairly knowledgeable cook, but I made a startling discovery when making this recipe that I felt I should share. To the purists- I always read the reviews first and adjust accordingly. I reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. - I only used 2 eggs, and I added 2 tsp of sugar. After carefully following the directions for the roux, I then added the cheese into the sauce so that it was all melted together in a yummy sauce, then added the pasta, stirred, and moved over into the 9x13 baking dish. The pasta was absolutely swimming in the sauce. I clearly did not have enough. I went back and cooked 2 more cups of the pasta, added it, then baked. It was delicious. But what the heck was the problem with the amount of pasta? I assumed the problem to be the fact that I substituted "mini farfalle (bowties) in place of the elbow mac. I then ran a search and LO AND BEHOLD – I found a pasta conversion chart! WHAT? I can't believe I've never seen or heard anything about the need to make adjustments based on a pasta substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I think there was way too much pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Bright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Truly delicious. Even better reheated next day. I'll be passing this recipe on, but only for my REALLY good friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pjaneholl
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe was easy to make. It browned beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimi
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I would use one less egg next time - it's a lil to quiche like. I also added crisp extra thick but bacon- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and was not a fan of the final product. The amount of butter made the final product too rich and greasy . I, like other reviewers found the texture odd and like ricotta cheese and though I layered the cheese as specified it did not seem that after baking, that the cheese ever integrated with the milk and egg mixture . The final product was just not very tasty and nothing like traditional macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States