Southern Living magazine's Venison Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I love this recipe - I use black beans instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I have to preface this by saying that I don't like venison. Since we have a freezer full of it, I've tried and tried to use it up for my the sake of my husband's ego. :) That being said, I was able to take more than a few bites of this. It does tame down the venison flavor, but in my opinion, doesn't eliminate it entirely. My husband thought it was "good." Not outstanding, but just good. I thought it was more trouble than it was worth for just a "good" reaction from him. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I usually make my own, but wanting to try something different I made this for my deer hunting crew. Most really seemed to like it, thus the 4 stars, but my son and I just thought is was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I didn't quite follow the exact recipe either, but the venison and Italian sausage together make a great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Husband liked this more than I did. I wasn't crazy about the taste, plus I now know I prefer kidney beans to pinto beans in chili. I needed to add a lot more chili powder and also hot sauce until it had the kind of heat and spice Husband likes. This was ok for a change, but I have other chili recipes that I like MUCH more. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This chili is the best I have ever made. It was worth the hour and 15 minutes it took me to prepare it. I love spice and flavor so I added more garlic and almost twice the amount of chili powder, cumin, oregano, and salt. My family couldn't get done raving about the awesome flavor and the crunchy bits of bacon are an unexpected pleasant surprise. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This chili was awesome! I had 1 lb venison smoked sausage and used it in place the italian sausage and used 1lb ground sirloin. I also used a can of tomato sauce instead of paste. It was excellent. The whole family loved it!! There were no leftovers. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I can't stand venison and this was perfect for me. I had no idea there was venison in this. It was excellant. The long list of ingredients can be scary, but it's really not that hard and well worth it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Husband loved it. I liked it. Omitted one pepper, added one jalapeno, added one tsp cajun seasoning and one tsp Mrs. Dash spicy blend. Next time will add some chopped baby carrots. I felt like it was missing something in terms of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My family and I did not care for this chili. It was a little too sweet (presumably from the beer) and did not have enough tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States