Southern Living Magazine's King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is the best & easiest king cake I've ever made. Even better than the ones shipped in from Louisiana! I tried Emeril's recipe last year and this recipie was better! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
The BEST KING CAKE! This was the best K.C. I've made.(teens agreed!) I make one every year. Best if eaten in 2 days. I paid special attention to the room temp. and the temp. of 1st four ingredients matched the water temp. on the yeast package (115-120 deg), not the recipe temp. Filling: Substitute half of the gran. sugar with lt. brown sugar and I added pecans. Can be sub. fruit filling. Also, I filled it differently. I rolled it out as suggested, and put filling across the center covering 50% of the dough then I folded the sides to the center and lightly pressed ends together and twisted the dough in the traditional method. To twist: grab the short edge(end) of the dough and turn(wind) about 3 times then wind the other end abt. 3 times in the reverse direction. Lift the dough near the center and lightly shake to move the twisted rings into position, trying to keep the center filling seam on the inside of twist. Bake on a pizza pan. Also, I use a butter cream or cream cheese frosting. Suggested frosting is very sweet and on top of that, you are pouring on sugar! Woo! I never cook the cake with the baby in it. I push it into the bottom of the cooked cake. Half recipe to make just one cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This turned out suprisingly well, considering I'd never baked with yeast before. For a filling, I used cream cheese mixed with powdered sugar - very good!! Next time I'll use cream cheese frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
If I could give this 6 stars, I would!! Once again Southern Living comes through in the recipe department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I made this in mass for a party and everyone there loved it! I WILL be making this again...and not just during Mardi Gras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This recipe was easy to follow. I enjoyed making it as much as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This recipe produces a king cake that compares very favorably with the many bakery versions I tasted while living in New Orleans. The icing/decorating instructions, however, are far fussier than what they do in the Big Easy. Usually, they put a thin layer of white icing just on the top, then sprinkle it with a little bit of colored sugar. I did this and ended up using less than half of the suggested icing and maybe 2 tsp. of each colored sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Growing up in Louisiana, i've tasted a ton of king cakes. This one definitely was right up there with the best of those. I used store-bought icing and just sprinkled the colored sugar over it. Very moist, very tasty, and very gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This was excellent. Everyone enjoyed this after our Mardi Gras dinner. I colored vanilla frosting instead of making it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Great Recipe - however makes more than one cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States