Southern Living Magazine's King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MIKE_AND_TAM
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe is delicious. I made my cakes without the colored icing, and added more coloring to the sugar topping. It's really easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
People. This is good king cake. This recipe is a WINNER. As a antive Louisianian, I've eaten king cake all my life, and like the others here have said, this recipe is top-notch. This is as good, if not better than anything you can buy down here, or for that matter, anywhere. And it's also fun to make. Most certainly a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Mardi Gras isn't complete without this dessert, and I've used this recipe since moving from the Gulf Coast in 1996 every year. It never fails to garner rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This cake was exactly what I was looking for. I made 3 cakes, taking one to my son's school, sending one to my husband's office, and keeping one at home. Everyone everywhere loved it and wanted the recipe. One lady my husband works with asked if I would make her king cakes for next Mardi Gras. These were as good as any of the cakes I've bought in New Orleans, and you can add any filling you'd like. Very good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Everybody loved this at my parent's Mardi Gras party. I made this with reduced fat sour cream and it still tasted rich. I bought icing and only iced one cake. Most people preferred the uniced cake.Absolutely delicious, won't wait for Mardi Gras to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
having lived in louisiana for 13 years, i was excited to finally make my own since i live in cincy and haven't found any i really like here. at first, i wasn't sure if i did a good job, but the more i ate it, the more delicious i realized it was. i made a few mistakes as a rookie - i took the advice of folding it together, then twisting it instead of jelly-rolling it and i didn't do it tight enough. so some parts were too fat and where it came together, too skinny. but otherwise, it looked authntic. i also split the sugar b/w white and brown and added some pecans as suggested. yummy. i will try the cream cheese filling next time. i also bought the icing but colored my own sugar. it was so easy, i just couldn't justify the expense of buying the colors premade. now if i can just figure out how to fill it with bavarian cream - my favorite king cake filling ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I made this recipe for my students when we discussed the history of Mardi Gras. The kids thought that this was the best thing that they had ever eaten and even asked me if I would make it again for the next day! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I'm from Louisiana and have TONS of different King cakes. This is by far the BEST one ever! It was kind of a pain to make but extremely worth it! I will definitely be making this every year for our annual Mardi Gras party instead of buying one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This turned out just like the King Cakes I had in New Orleans. To save on time, skip the step where you color the icing, it really isn't necessary because of the colored sugars. The ones in New Orleans usually have just white frosting with colored sugars anyway. I'm going to keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe was pretty close to our King Cakes in New Orleans. Instead of coloring my own sugars, I just picked up some from the arts and crafts stores in the cake decorating department. It was a very nice substitute for the one from New Orleans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States