Southern Living Magazine's King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by maryt
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I twist both of the cakes together to make a larger one and bake for 25-30 minutes. To decorate I make 2/3 of the frosting (still a lot!) leave it uncolored and use store bought sugars because they are brighter than my homemade attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelsey
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My husband recently challenged me to bake a King Cake - something I, being from Ohio, had never heard of - and he, a native New-Orlean, had never eaten outside of a restaurant! The very next day I baked up this cake while he was at work - when he came home, he FLIPPED! He said it was the best King Cake he'd ever had, immediately called his family to brag, and then asked me to bake a second after only one slice. It was great! I followed the recipe exactly - put a space heater in the closet for the 85 degree yeast reaction. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was my first King Cake to make and it was terrific. I grew up in Baton Rouge surrounded by bakeries specializing in King Cakes so I had low expectations for cooking a cake that was up to Louisiana standards; but this recipe was terrific. I'm even thinking about making one in a heart shape and using red, pink, and white frosting for V-Day. I did 1/2 the cake portion of the recipe keeping the filling, frosting and sugar the amount suggested. Though I could have used 1/3 of the amount of colored sugars and been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robinite
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I lived in NOLA for a few years, and really missed the King Cake. Last year, we got one delivered from Haydel's and it was great. This year I forgot to order it until it was too late, so (with the help of my mom) I tried this recipe instead. It is awesome. It's super-moist and delicious. I don't think I used quite as much sugar on top as the recipe called for, but I definitely used more than enough ;) Like other folks, I didn't bother to color the frosting as most NOLA bakeries don't seem to do that either. The coloring from the sugars, however, will spread into the frosting a bit. I cheated and crushed large decorative sugars from the store to use on this cake. I think I should have used an egg beater or something to make the frosting, however, as mine came out a little lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the real deal. Relatively easy and very tasty, especially with the tweaks recommended by other users like using pecans and brown sugar in the filling, this is a winner. My only additional tweak is that I would double the filling recipe next time to better the filling-to-dough ratio. I've got 40 New Orleans Mardi Gras under my belt, and even though I live in Texas now, this recipe tastes like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
The first year my restaurant location was open during Mardi Gras, I brought in king cake for everyone (2/3 of the recipe). The next day, there was none left over. This year, I carried on the tradition. Although I wasn't scheduled to work until the evening, I brought it in before lunch so my day shift could enjoy it as well. They were given explicit instructions to make sure there was enough left over for the evening crew. When I arrived at 4pm, they were most unapologetic for leaving just 3 pieces for 8 employees. Definately a winning recipe! (And next year, I'm giving one to day shift and one to evening shift, and making an extra recipe for myself!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I live in New Orleans, and while there is no substitute for a Randazzo's king cake, this one is decent. It was a little dry with just the cinnamon and sugar for filling. I added some chopped walnuts and a little butter, and it was a little better. I also used the basic recipe but with cream cheese beat with powdered sugar as the filling instead, and this king cake came out very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was so delicious! I had never even heard of a King Cake until the day I made this one. The dough was wonderful to work with and warm out of the oven it was as good as any bakery could have made. I used white frosting and sprinkled with yellow, purple and green sugars - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
WOW! i served this to two familys and EVERYONE loved it! As a beginer, It was a little challenging since i had only worked with yeast one other time, but i had fun. not only was the cake great, but the frosting was magnificent! quick and easy too! THANKYOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was my first attempt at a king cake. I took it to a party and everyone loved it. Very good presentation. The dough is very easy to work with and I plan to use it for cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States