Southern Living Magazine's King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
excellent cake! Lots of fun making this with my hubby and 4 yr.old. I doubled the filling and used brown sugar instead of white and also added pecans. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Dore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My first attempt at a King Cake is a stunner! Wonderful recipe made as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have had a king cake for my birthday every year of my life... until recently. When I lived in New Orleans as a child, we bought them at the bakery. As an young adult, my mother had them shipped to me. As an adult and since my mother's passing, I have not had a king cake! So, this year I decided, with my children, to attempt to make a king cake myself... and I used this recipe. It is the BEST king cake I have ever had! We followed the recipe exactly except we added cinnamon to the cream cheese filling and braided the two cakes together for a larger cake. Sharing the heritage of the king cake, Mardi Gras and some of my own childhood experiences with my children all while making this wonderful recipe was well worth the time... not to mention, this recipe was better than ANY I have ever had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This has been my favorite of all the King Cake doughs I've tried, probably because it's the most like a cinnamon roll dough. It's tender and easy to work with like those. The filling didn't really thrill me, as I prefer brown sugar or a cream cheese filling, but really the filling is the easy (and fun!) part to modify. I do always add more filling to King Cake than the recipes imply, just because I like it. Thanks for the recipe, Southern Living magazine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this recipe more healthy by using fat free yogurt, reduced fat margarine, half Splenda and half sugar, and half whole wheat baking flour, half white flour, and the results were fabulous. Instead of cinnamon/sugar, I filled the cake with a fat free cream cheese, banana, and pineapple puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was very good. FOllowed recipe exept for frosting. I not color it and I did have to add quite a bit more milk to get a good consistency to drizzle on cake...also I bought colored sugar to save the hassle of using food coloring. I bought a little plastic baby and stuck it in the bottom of cake after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JNB
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This came out beautifully. I was out of sour cream so I used heavy cream w/lemon juice added and it worked out wonderfully. I added some vanilla extract to the dough and a touch of cinnamon as well. I also omitted the raisins. My husband and roommate both loved this. Its not terribly sweet and will be wonderful with coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this cake for a Cajun party and it was a huge hit, especially with the kids. Since I couldn't find a plastic baby Jesus, I replaced it with one whole almond. A poor substitute, but one that's used in gateau des rois (the quebecois version of a king cake). Thanks for the great recipe. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Although I was born and raised in Louisiana, I live in the midwest now where most people have never heard of King Cake. This is the 1st king cake I've had in years! And the 1st one I have ever made! It was awesome and worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Perfect king cake! I'm from BR, lived for years in New Orleans, but now I'm up in Seattle with no king cake to be found during mardi gras season. So I figured I'd start making 'em. I decided to try this one, and have since fed it to all my friends. 10/10 Louisianians up here agree - this is better than most king cakes we've ever bought back home! Moist, not too sweet, no goopy filling. I don't color the frosting, just put the colored sugar onto white frosting. It's also good with a praline filling - pecans + butter + brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States