Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This recipe is absolutely AWESOME!!! I have tried several recipes from this site, however, have NEVER taken the time to review them, although I enjoyed most of them. I had to take time to say, I'm from Texas, where he have chicken fried steak at almost every restaurant. This TRULY is better than ANY restaurants I've ever had. It's was just awesome. Like others, I didn't use as much oil, or frying time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This recipe came out pretty bad, but not inedible. First they call for way too much of everything, the egg/milk mixture mostly went down my disposal, along with the huge amount of cracker mix. And 3 1/2 cups of oil was a huge waste! 4 cups of milk made the gravy very very thin. I think if you scale back on some of these things it may come out better because the taste was ok for all the problems I had with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Exactly like the chicken fried steak I ate growing up in south Ga. I would not modify this recipe one bit. A few hints: be patient with the gravy because it will take a bit of time and constant attention to thicken, but it's well worth it. Use peanut oil instead of veggie oil if you can, because peanut oil lends a great flavor. Peanut oil also heats at a higher temperature which allows you to flash fry the steak. This will give you a crispy outside and a juicy, tender inside. Some people have commented that too much oil is recommended. Whatever size skillet you use, pour enough oil to cover at least half of the steak. It should not be submerged in oil, but the pan shouldn't be just lightly greased either. Serve this with homemade biscuits, corn casserole or creamed corn, candied sweet potatoes, and dark greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Awesome recipe! You definitely don't need all the oil as stated. One and a half cups is fine. Maybe the gravy is supposed to be a little bland, but to suit our tastes I seasoned it up with garlic and onion powders and more pepper. For the person who asked what cube steaks are; they're labeled as cube steaks and they look as though they've been run over by a truck. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Wow! I just finished the last bite of this and it was wonderful. I took other reviewers advice and added extra salt and pepper to the beef, but it didn't really need it. I also used only 1/2 cup oil and it only took about 3 to 4 minutes on each side to cook. The gravy consistancy was just right. It turned out perfect and tasted just the way I've had it in restaurants. I will make this again but with the exception of the oil and less cooking time will follow the recipe exactly as stated. Thanks for sharing. Jeannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This was a great recipe, it tasted like what I've had in restaurants. However, like the others I used less oil, and for the gravy; I mixed half milk and half beef broth..nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUESKYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Outstanding. Follow exactly but try these modifications. It's well worth the effort. Mashed potatoes are important. Use quality Round Steak and pound it to 1/4" to 1/2" thick. To the cracker crumbs add equal measures: 3 tbls. Onion Powder and Garlic Powder (POWDER, NOT SALT!) Shorten the cooking time by 5 minutes. Here's the payoff. Pour off all but a tbls. of the cooking oil. To Med. High heat add 2- 14.5oz cans of beef broth. Boil and scrape up brown bits. Add 1 tsp each, Onion and Garlic powder. Add 2 Large tbls. of mashed potatoes, stirring until they're dissolved. Make a roux of 1 tbls. butter melted in the microwave adding 1 tbls. flour to form a paste. Incorporate into gravy. Simmer gravy to desired thickness. No additional salt should be necessary. You will not be sorry. I promise. Serves approx. 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Amazing. I never thought I'd be able to make Chicken Fried Steak this good at home. The gravy was amazing. The red pepper requirment was clearly a bit much, but I went with it anyway. I love spice, but apparently I was the only one in the house. Next time I will add garlic and limit the red pepper. And there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was totally awesome. The double dipping keeps the steaks from being greasy. Also a good idea with southern fried catfish (using cornmeal for double dipping). Never tried the crackers before. Think that was what made it so wonderful. Next I think I will try it with chicken breasts or pork cutlets. Recipe should be great with those too. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States