Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was the first time I had ever made this, not having grown up eating it. So even though it tasted really good to me, I wasn't sure. My husband said it was better than his mom's~so this is a keeper~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Makes the best Chicken Fried Steaks - Read the recipie all the way through - there is a wonderful gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is a great recipe! My boyfriend had never had this before, but I lived in TX for a number of years, so I've had it many times. I was so happy to see it looked and tasted just like it was supposed to! He loved it. I used veggie oil and did not heat it as high as called for because I used a nonstick pan. It still turned out perfect and did not take long to cook. The gravy did take a little while, though. Be patient, it will get thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The whole family loved this! I followed the recipe proportions exactly (minus the red pepper). The only revision made was to the gravy. You really do need to cook/brown the 1/4 cup flour in the drippings BEFORE slowly adding the milk. It seems thin, but you need to cook it for quite a while, stirring constantly, till consistency is what you want. Then it turns out perfect!! The reviewer who said they used an extra 2 cups of flour sounded more like they were making paper mache, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty! Instead of peanut oil, I used veggie oil and only about 1-1.5 cups of it. I would recommend seasoning the meat overnight. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
THIS WAS THE BOMB!* I OUTDID MY HUSBAND ON THIS ONE! THE HONEY AND KIDS LOVED IT AND NONE LEFT OVER FOR THE DOG. DARN... MY DAD SAYS I BURN WATER (HARDLY EVER COOK) AND THIS TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY, EVEN FOR ME. THIS WOULD BE GREAT FOR GUESTS, EVEN IN-LAWS. THANK YOU FOR THIS AWESOME RECIPE! IT WASN'T TOO HARD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This recipe was great!! My famiy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I questioned the crackers at first but WOW, did it come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was good, my first attempt at frying food, nearly lit the kitchen on fire, but I will try again. Gravy was very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
A couple things I would change next time but a very good recipe. Cut the oil down by half and I used olive oil because I didn't have any peanut oil. I used a package of country gravy and just added drippings like others suggested which cut down the time. And also next time I won't cook as long as recipe calls for I will cook for 10 min. total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States