Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was the first time I had ever made this, not having grown up eating it. So even though it tasted really good to me, I wasn't sure. My husband said it was better than his mom's~so this is a keeper~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkibonz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Makes the best Chicken Fried Steaks - Read the recipie all the way through - there is a wonderful gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is a great recipe! My boyfriend had never had this before, but I lived in TX for a number of years, so I've had it many times. I was so happy to see it looked and tasted just like it was supposed to! He loved it. I used veggie oil and did not heat it as high as called for because I used a nonstick pan. It still turned out perfect and did not take long to cook. The gravy did take a little while, though. Be patient, it will get thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The whole family loved this! I followed the recipe proportions exactly (minus the red pepper). The only revision made was to the gravy. You really do need to cook/brown the 1/4 cup flour in the drippings BEFORE slowly adding the milk. It seems thin, but you need to cook it for quite a while, stirring constantly, till consistency is what you want. Then it turns out perfect!! The reviewer who said they used an extra 2 cups of flour sounded more like they were making paper mache, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty! Instead of peanut oil, I used veggie oil and only about 1-1.5 cups of it. I would recommend seasoning the meat overnight. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
THIS WAS THE BOMB!* I OUTDID MY HUSBAND ON THIS ONE! THE HONEY AND KIDS LOVED IT AND NONE LEFT OVER FOR THE DOG. DARN... MY DAD SAYS I BURN WATER (HARDLY EVER COOK) AND THIS TURNED OUT BEAUTIFULLY, EVEN FOR ME. THIS WOULD BE GREAT FOR GUESTS, EVEN IN-LAWS. THANK YOU FOR THIS AWESOME RECIPE! IT WASN'T TOO HARD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This recipe was great!! My famiy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I questioned the crackers at first but WOW, did it come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was good, my first attempt at frying food, nearly lit the kitchen on fire, but I will try again. Gravy was very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
A couple things I would change next time but a very good recipe. Cut the oil down by half and I used olive oil because I didn't have any peanut oil. I used a package of country gravy and just added drippings like others suggested which cut down the time. And also next time I won't cook as long as recipe calls for I will cook for 10 min. total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States