Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I used chicken breasts (flattened into cutlets) instead of cube steaks...and didn't make the gravy since I am the only one who eats gravy. The breading adhered nicely the the chicken. My daughter gave this 50 stars, and my husband said that it's a keeper! Best chicken fried chicken since I left Texas...and I made it myself!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was really good! I didn't have crackers, so I used 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs instead. I will only cook the first side for 7-8 minutes next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
My husband LOVES this and it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Wonderful! I am scared of frying, it always turns out burnt and smells up the house! I followed other reviewers suggestions and let the meat come to room temp before coating, and really watched the temp of the oil. I was amazed that it actually turned out! My whole family loved it. My 7 yr old son who is not a great meat eater actually ate the meat before the mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was a smiple and easy to make and my family love it. They ate every bit of it. I add garlic pepper to it. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very good! The gravy did not have much flavor, so I didn't use it. Instead, I combined cream-of-chicken soup with 1/2 cup of heavy cream and added a ton of pepper. This gravy, minus the pepper, is part of another recipe on this site -- chicken cordon bleu -- which made me think of chicken-fried steak when I tasted it. In all, this dish turned out very nicely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
simple, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Just like my mother used to make. Wonderful! Even my wife was surprised at my gravey making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I've made this recipe several times now, and think that it's fabulous. I'd always just used flour and egg, but the added ingredients in this recipe really make it a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This was really good! Great comfort food. I wouldn't go as far to say that it is as good as restaurant quality (maybe if I had a deep fryer), but it was quite tasty. The only problem I had was that the coating stuck to the bottom of the pan on the second side. I didn't measure the oil, and maybe I didn't put enough in...that could be my problem. I made the gravy as well, and it took well under 10-12 minutes to thicken up. Probably only 6 or 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States