Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I have tried several different recipes for Chicken-Fried steak but have been disappointed every time...not any more! This was superb, the coating stayed on, the steaks were so tender and the gravy, (once I seasoned it liberally) was delicious over the steaks and mashed potatoes. My 8yo daughter informed me while I was dipping and breading the steaks that she was NOT eating that...guess who had thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is the BEST recipe! If cooked correctly, it almost melts in your mouth! The important thing is not to overcook the meat! But this recipe is so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIKA1066

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
good, took some time to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is definitely the best chicken-fried steak recipe I've tried. If you are looking for extra-thick, restaurant style breading, you've got to give this recipe a try. I used venison backstrap in place of the cube steaks, and I couldn't even tell it wasn't beef. I also substituted evaporated milk for the milk in the egg mixture, and made the gravy with evaporated milk too. I like the rich, creamy taste that evaporated milk adds, and that is simply just a personal preference. I plan on using this recipe every time I make chicken-fried steak in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This turned out great! What a delicious country gravy. We'll definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I thought I hated country fried steak until I made this. Honestly, the very idea of this meal kind of made me feel sick, but my husband loves chicken fried steak so I decided to try to make some. I was wary of the crackers at first, but the steaks turned out perfectly; they have a nice, spicy flavor and a crispy coating. I wouldn't change a thing about the steaks. To make the gravy, I whisked in the flour first, and then slowly added the milk (skim) until it was thick enough. The gravy (which I didn't eat because I don't like gravy) was apparently very bland, though. It looked very nice, but just had no flavor. I'm not sure how this could be pepped up--some beef bouillon and lots of pepper, perhaps? I'll try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I made it just like it said and it turned out great. Restaurant Quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I do not usually use recipes to cook, but I decided to give this one a try and it was GREAT! I chose not to make the gravy, but did use the leftover mixtures to season potato wedges. My husband loved it! I will definitely keep this one around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
excellent, my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I would like to start by saying I hate to fry with oil! But my husband wanted country fried steak so I figured "here goes"! I LOVED this recipe, my husband thought it was a little spicy for him, so I will cut back on the red pepper a little for him next time. I used 2 sticks of reg crisco, and that worked perfectly, and burns at a higher temp than regular veg oil without smoking or smelling terrible. I normally dont use peanut oil for allergy reasons. I also did not make the gravy because my husband hates white gravy, and I was to hungry after making this to wait for it just for me :-) I will DEFINATELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States