Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I've made this twice now and each time it was fabulous. the first time I made per directions but used a small deep fryer and it was great and quick. the second, i pan fried but didn't have any saltines so I used crushed ritz crackers and that was just as great. The gravy needs a lot of salt but is so worth it! Will keep this around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
The meat turned out to be quite tender with this recipe (I turned the oven up to 300 degrees while the gravy was cooking), but we didn't care for the gravy. It tasted too much like flour and pepper. I did use skim milk, so the gravy would probably be richer if made with whole milk, evaporated milk, or cream. But the meat recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The steak part was pretty good - it could have done with a little more seasoning in the crumbs though - but I didn't like the gravy at all. I ended up throwing it out, and using stuff from a packet instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made it and shared the recipe with my mom. We BOTH loved it! I didn't make the gravy but my mom did and said it's absolutely worth the extra effort. I personally added more seasoning to the meat and the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was a hit with my hubby! I've never thought of using saltine crackers..and it made a world of a difference. However, I went the easy way out with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I was so happy to find this recipe in Southern Living!! It is really wonderful. My picky husband really liked it. Don't skimp on the battering. Cram as much of the crumbs and flour into the steak as possible. It really gives it the wonderful flavor. I have a hard time getting the gravy to thicken. Don't be afraid to crank up the heat. It will get done faster. The saltine crackers are brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
So So Good. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Had good crispness and plenty tasty. Cooked up a lot faster than what recipe said it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I always order chicken fried steak when we go out to eat, but this tops anything I've had. I make my own country gravy rather than using the pan drippings. I also sprinkle the meat with meat tenderizer so the kids don't get tired chewing it. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoleneMiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
By far this is the best chicken fried steak recipe I have ever made. They only changes I made was that I used vegetable oil instead of peanut oil and I used chicken gravy instead of making the gravy from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States