Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Made this for hubby's birthday and it was a big hit. Didn't use crackers, used bread crumbs instead. Added more red pepper than the recipe called for and it was good. Added a lot more flour to the sauce than the recipe called for. Served with Ravenswood Red Zin and it was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cavoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This country fried steak came out beautiful and delicious. I accidentally put in more red pepper than was called for and it turned out to be just the right flavor and we don't eat spicy stuff. I also added some garlic and onion powder, and paprika to give more color. My only complaint was that there was so much milk in the egg dip for breading, I'd cut that back by half bc it was way more than necessary. I made my own pan gravy with beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I had some tenderized hip steak in the freezer I needed to use. This was a perfect recipe, but I was in a hurry so didn't do the gravy, just served it on fresh buns with mayo, lettuce and tomatoes. It was very tasty. I can't wait to try it with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I added 1/4 cup Frank's red-hot sauce to the egg bath, and old bay seasoning to the cracker crumb/flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This recipe was easy to fix with ingredients that I already had on hand. It's a little plain, not too seasoned, which was great for my family. I ended up making the gravy and had way too much. Think I'll add some sausage to it today and made sausage gravy and biscuits for breakfast. I'd make only half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Outstanding. Follow exactly but try these modifications. It's well worth the effort. Mashed potatoes are important. Use quality Round Steak and pound it to 1/4" to 1/2" thick. To the cracker crumbs add equal measures: 3 tbls. Onion Powder and Garlic Powder (POWDER, NOT SALT!) Shorten the cooking time by 5 minutes. Here's the payoff. Pour off all but a tbls. of the cooking oil. To Med. High heat add 2- 14.5oz cans of beef broth. Boil and scrape up brown bits. Add 1 tsp each, Onion and Garlic powder. Add 2 Large tbls. of mashed potatoes, stirring until they're dissolved. Make a roux of 1 tbls. butter melted in the microwave adding 1 tbls. flour to form a paste. Incorporate into gravy. Simmer gravy to desired thickness. No additional salt should be necessary. You will not be sorry. I promise. Serves approx. 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Best chicken fried steak ever! Used fine bread crumbs, added garlic, fried in deep fryer. The breading stayed on, very crispy. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was really good. I used a non-stick skillet and only about 3/4 c of oil and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was my first time making chicken fried steak. It turned out great! I cooked it on an electric, non-stick skillet with a lot less oil than the recipe called for and my husband loved it. For anyone who's never used this recipe before: With the red and black pepper, it's pretty spicy, so if you don't like that, you might want to use less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Not bad but I prefer to fry chicken and not steak. Gravy was not good as is, I added about 2 or 3 tsp of "Better than Bouillion" Chicken flavor to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States