Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now. It took me along time to find a good recipe and I still have not found a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This tasted great! Better than the resteraunt's! I use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
We absolutely loved this chicken fried steak. Being from TX we love almost any chicken fried steak, but ever since I found this recipe we don't eat any other chicken fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was delicious! The coating was really crispy and crunchy and this had a nice flavor. I did miss the garlic I always use in mine though, other than that it was 5 stars. I was a little unsure about using the cayenne pepper, but I couldn't even taste it and no one else even seemed to notice it was in there. This made a LOT of gravy, so next time I am only going to use 3 cups of milk instead. I had to shorten the cook time on the first side by almost 2 minutes as it was starting to get really brown. I'm a Southerner/Texan and grew up on chicken fried steak and gravy, when I say this makes some good eatin', I know what I am talking about! Chicken fried steak is one of our very favorite meals. I loved this recipe. The second time I made this I tossed in a chicken bouillion cube to the gravy, just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Everyone asks me to make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKLAINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mildenhall, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
The only changes I made was to use a canola oil blend. This was the first time I ever cooked chicken fried steak and it was great! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MichelleP.
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I loved this. I have tried chicken fried steak at many restaurants and never really liked it. I really do not know why I even decided to cook this. I guess I was hoping that it would be better if I made it and my southern family seems to love chicken fried steak. This recipe was wonderful. I cooked it with only enough oil to cover half the steaks since it seemed like too much oil was called for in the recipe. I also added a little more spices than listed. I included about a tsp of onion salt and a little bit of blackening seasoning added to the cracker, flour mixture and to the gravy. I used about 2 1/2 cups of milk for the gravy and this was plenty for me and the sauce did not take too long to thicken. It was bland though until I added a little of the seasoning mentioned above. I will be making this many more times. My husband loved it too especially the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleP.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Out of this world! The gravy totally makes this dish! I used a non-stick skillet and about one cup of olive oil, and mine turned out great. Very crispy coating, AMAZING gravy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is by far the BEST chicken fried steak I have ever made. It was crispy crunchy on the outside and fork tender on the inside. This is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe. My husband is from Texas and this is his favorite dish.... so when I dove into this one I was a little nervous because I knew I was up amongst some fierce comparisons! But he loved it. The gravy is wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States