Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
First suggestion cut the amount of oil in half at least. You honestly don't need that much oil! For the gravy, mix the flour straight into the drippings to get less lumps than slowly add the milk 1 cup at a time until you get your gravy to the thickness you like. First time I made this, 4 cups of milk made watery, thin gravy and I had to add nearly 2 cups of flour to get it to thicken properly. Other than, this is a rock-solid true Southern comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
WOW! Really good! I cut the cube steaks into 2 pieces, then pounded the heck out of them until very thin. I fried in half canola oil, 1/2 Crisco. Cooked up very quick as the steaks were so thin. I used packaged country gravy mix and made according to the directions, then added 2 tbsp of the pan drippings for flavor. Saved time this way and was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is the BEST chicken fried steak that my kids and I have ever had. No Texas restaurant that I've ever been to has even come CLOSE. It was a little messy, but I knew that before I even started. It's just par for the course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
this recipe did quite work out for me but i will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is excellent, almost as good as mom's. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Yuuuummmmmm. My husband loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Wow I have never had chicken fried steak that tast this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe. The gravy turns out so delicious- tastes alot like the gravy at Chili's. Yummy! (I think the secret is to pound the cube steak really thin, and shorten the cooking time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Everyone that I have made this loves it! It is a little messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I wanted to make Chicken-Fried Steak because hubby and I always ordered it at JB's when we were dating and first married (it wasn't the best thing on the menu but we had a Starving Student card and it was buy one get one free....lol!) This totally blew that out of the water! For the saltines, I used Wheatines (whole wheat saltine crackers). I only used about 3 cups of 1% milk for the gravy. I cut way back on the salt too, and used a mix of canola oil and sunflower oil (and a lot less than called for). The meat was very tender and the breading was so good! Served with garlic-roasted mashed potatoes and sweet white corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States