Southern Living magazine's Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
The only thing I do different is I chop 1/2 onion, a red and green pepper and slice some mushrooms. Saute those and add on top of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This stuff is AMAZING. I just wish I could get some breakfast sausage in Egypt because I'm craving it and want to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I served this dish the morning of Thanksgiving. It was a hit and so easy to make! Everyone loved it...even my mother-in-law who doesn't really care for sausage. The only suggestion I have is add a little picante sauce on the top. I will definately serve this again on Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this every Monday morning for the North Eugene High School swim team. The kids LOVED it. When my son graduated, I gave each swimmer a laminated copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a great breakfast casserole. I have made it many times using different meats. Always a favorite. I do not let it sit out 30 min before baking. I put right in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This recipe is quite possibly foolproof. I have made it several times with different thicknesses of "loaf bread" - thin, sandwich slices, etc. And it always comes out great. I have made it without letting it sit overnight, and it still comes out good (but overnight is preferred). I made it for my son's Christening brunch last week, and I made it ahead in stages: I measured the dry ingredients and put them in a "baggie" in my spice cabinet about 2 weeks ahead. I cubed the bread and put in freezer about 1 week prior. I also cooked up the sausage and froze that 1 week ahead. Then, the day I was going to make it (the day before the brunch), I let everything thaw. That night, all I had to do was dump the bread cubes, crumbled sausage, and a bag of pre-shredded cheese into the pan. Then I just mixed the wet ingredients (dumped the pre-measured seasonings in), poured into pan, and placed in the fridge. The next morning, I left it on the counter with a copy of the recipe for my party helper to bake. Everyone raved...especially our Northern visitors. They wanted the recipe for my "quiche." You really cannot tell that the base is bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I'm late reviewing this, but I have served this the last 2 Xmas mornings, and it is something our family looks foward too (maybe even more than the pressies) Excellent for brunch, I love to add hot sauce for some zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Not only delicious but easy! We tried both the ground pork option and ham option. Preferred the ham -- seemed oddly lighter and a little faster without having to cook the pork. With ham we added sliced green onions on top which gave it a lovely sing of flavor! Great recipe for preparing the night before and not having the work in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Remove crust from the bread and butter before cubing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Pretty good, but not great. I don't think I cared for the italian sausage so much. I served this at a church brunch and this was one of the last of the egg dishes to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States