Southern Living magazine's Beef Brisket in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Beer and Brisket with this method of cooking, dutch oven on top of stove or in oven is very traditional (simmer 3 1/2 hours if you don't use slow cooker). The seasoning can differ though: Mother's reads; to dredge meat in 1/2 cup of flour and brown first. Then mix drippings, 1/4 C. Brown Sugar, 2 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ginger. grated med. onion, 1/2 cup water and 8 ounces of beer. Pour over meat in cooker of choice. Soak 16 each of prunes and apricots to reconstitute and add over meat last fourth of the way of cooking. This is heaven!! - and I've put off for years letting this out of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, I don't know why some people gave a bad review. When I made this, I wasn't sure if all people in my family would like it because it has a lot of chilli sauce. But everybody love it and keep asking for more. I add more brown sugar to ease the chilli flavor. I am not a cook or anything, I usually buy my food but this recipe is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
all i can say is great brisket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Very good. I made this for my husband, brother and sister-in-law. They raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I gave this recipe 2 stars only because the meat was so tender. My family did not like the sauce/gravy at all. I followed the recipe and did not make any changes. This is not a recipe I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Delicious! Real tender meat. Instead of chili sauce, I used ketchup and garlic powder. I also added some canned diced tomatoes because that's the way we like it. Thanks much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I used a very similar recipe like this for my boyfriend and he loved it. ...after his 2nd and 3rd helping, I'll give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This was very good. It was the first time I've made brisket. It turned out very mosit. I may actually cook it a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOSTERKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This was good but I thought it would be much better. My brisket didn't slice, it shredded so we ate it on buns. Not what we had planned originally but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This is one of the best recipes on this site! It is so easy and so good. I usually freeze the leftovers and have it the following week, my husband says this is his favorite meal I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States