Southern Italian Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Scaled down the recipe for a trial run before Thanksgiving. Came out great! I'm not a fan of sage or poultry seasoning, so I used a bit of oregano instead. Had a great flavor. Left out the pine nuts, but will consider adding them in next time. Was a bit on the salty side, so for Thanksgiving, I'll use low-sodium chicken broth and not add any additional salt. Can't wait for the family to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
everyone loves this dish., mom, dad and kids think this is the keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaterhune

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My Neice made this today for the first time and it is awesome! I couldn't wait to get home and print this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Perfect! The only thing I changed was substituting unsalted sunflower kernels for the pine nuts. A cup of pine nuts was over 12 bucks at the grocery. The same amount of sunflower seeds was 1.40...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave The Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My sister was going to make Stove Top stuffing for Thanksgiving and even though I don't usually care for it, I really didn't want that. Did a quick search and decided to try this. OMG! Really good! But not a quick dish. So I adjusted some things a bit. I cooked the sausage & thick cut, peppered bacon and the onion & celery all the night before. Stored it all in a container refridgerated overnight. The next day added the rest of the ingredients as recipe dictates. I did consider omitting the pine nuts due to the expense however they are totally worth it. A bit soggy but I should've used the entire french bagette instead of worrying about following the measurements to the letter. I added Oregano, white pepper & garlic salt along with the spices as listed. Not sure it needed all the butter on top. Lots of left over so it can be served as a good breakfast dish with an egg over easy on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is probably the best stuffing I've ever had. This completely out-classed everything else on the dinner table this Christmas. The only change I made, saving time for myself, was to use a bag of cornbread stuffing w/out seasoning in place of crumbled cornbread. It was so good I was handing out the recipe like it was lottery tickets. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this stuffing last year for Thanksgiving and I absolutely loved the flavor. I have been craving it and can't wait for Thanksgiving this year. (It seems to be the only time I make stuffing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Awesome taste. I may never make a different stuffing again. I followed the exact recipe, however, I should have cooked it a bit longer but would still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
It tastes great. I took out the pine nuts and added a pound of ground beef, green and red bell peppers, mushrooms, and regular bacon. Also used beef broth instead of chicken cause someone that's coming is allergic to poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I halved this recipe tonight and gave it a try. This was excellent, and looked nice in the dish, too. I will make it for company on Thanksgiving. This is a very interesting dish - flavor was good, texture nice, a great idea overall. I used "Sweet" Italian sausage. It was NOT too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchidluvr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States