Southern Italian Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I halved this recipe tonight and gave it a try. This was excellent, and looked nice in the dish, too. I will make it for company on Thanksgiving. This is a very interesting dish - flavor was good, texture nice, a great idea overall. I used "Sweet" Italian sausage. It was NOT too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchidluvr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
It tastes great. I took out the pine nuts and added a pound of ground beef, green and red bell peppers, mushrooms, and regular bacon. Also used beef broth instead of chicken cause someone that's coming is allergic to poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Awesome taste. I may never make a different stuffing again. I followed the exact recipe, however, I should have cooked it a bit longer but would still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used sun flower seeds instead of pine nuts as another review suggested and I couldnt stomach it at all. The flavors were perfect but that random crunchy texture (I usually love all things crunchy) was unpleasant. I will omit any kind of nuts next time. It tasted great otherwise, I cooked it in our turkey not in a dish also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner. I used Pepperidge Farms cornbread stuffing instead of making my own cornbread. Next year I'll use real cornbread. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It is definitely time consuming so next time I'll start prep two days ahead. Well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I have never made home-made stuffing before and after looking up dozens, this one stood out, I made it a few months before Thanksgiving to "test" it out and it was a fantastic hit! I'll be making it for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Sorry to leave a poor review. This was far to spicy and greasy for us. Yes I cut down the spices to 1/3 of the recipe and drained the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this stuffing last year for Thanksgiving and I absolutely loved the flavor. I have been craving it and can't wait for Thanksgiving this year. (It seems to be the only time I make stuffing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is probably the best stuffing I've ever had. This completely out-classed everything else on the dinner table this Christmas. The only change I made, saving time for myself, was to use a bag of cornbread stuffing w/out seasoning in place of crumbled cornbread. It was so good I was handing out the recipe like it was lottery tickets. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My sister was going to make Stove Top stuffing for Thanksgiving and even though I don't usually care for it, I really didn't want that. Did a quick search and decided to try this. OMG! Really good! But not a quick dish. So I adjusted some things a bit. I cooked the sausage & thick cut, peppered bacon and the onion & celery all the night before. Stored it all in a container refridgerated overnight. The next day added the rest of the ingredients as recipe dictates. I did consider omitting the pine nuts due to the expense however they are totally worth it. A bit soggy but I should've used the entire french bagette instead of worrying about following the measurements to the letter. I added Oregano, white pepper & garlic salt along with the spices as listed. Not sure it needed all the butter on top. Lots of left over so it can be served as a good breakfast dish with an egg over easy on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States