Southern Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Thanx so much for all the glowing reviews -- my grandmother has since passed, and it warms my heart to know that her cooking has touched so many people :)................................................ Edit: For those of you having trouble with curdling, it is key that the top of the double boiler be ABOVE (not sitting in) the simmering (not boiling) water to prevent overheating. Also, make sure you whisk in the lemon juice OFF the heat. America's Test Kitchen just released their recipe, and it is almost identical in technique. As for the amount of lemon juice, this is how it was served to me my entire childhood, and I always found it bland at restaurants, so experiment to find your personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Excellent hollandaise sauce recipe. I made this with eggs benedict. The amount of lemon juice was perfect for me. If it begins to separate, just add a splash of cold water and whisk very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A big lemon taste. We used fresh squeezed lemon so it had a full favor as apposed to the acidic taste of the non fresh variety. We served it over an Italian version of eggs Benedict (prosciutto and rustic Italian bread instead of Canadian bacon and English muffins) A keeper, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peterdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Simply divine! I gradually added the lemon juice and stopped when it suited my own taste which was about 1 Tbsp. Remember: You can always add, but you can't take away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
THIS IS THE ONE! I have tried several recipes including the ones made in the blender. This is exactly what I think of when I think Hollandaise sauce. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
WOW! Talk about a recipe that FINALLY got it RIGHT! Awesome taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALLYSPORTGRL

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is very simple. I doubled everything except the lemon juice and it was still to much. I will make this again but 1 1/2 teaspoons instead of a full 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomom3273

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was my first time making hollandaise and it came out GREAT! I found that as the sauce sat the lemon flavor intensified, so next time I will add a little less. I kept squeezing some in from a fresh lemon so I'm not sure exactly how much I used. I think the best way to judge is taste and if it's just about there, let it sit 5 minutes and it will be perfect. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was as good as you can get (better in some cases!) in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Didn't have a double boiler so added water and butter in a pan on low on oven until melted through and slowly added in egg yolks and it worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURCL
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is easy to understand and follow. The flavor is great. As with any natural flavoring, it's going to vary depending on what you have. If the lemons are tart, you may need less, which is why the suggestion to add at the end is there. Ours came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States