Southern Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by LAURCL
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is easy to understand and follow. The flavor is great. As with any natural flavoring, it's going to vary depending on what you have. If the lemons are tart, you may need less, which is why the suggestion to add at the end is there. Ours came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURCL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very easy and tasty. But as several other commenters have mentioned, I think the recipe calls for far too much lemon. Good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Simply divine! I gradually added the lemon juice and stopped when it suited my own taste which was about 1 Tbsp. Remember: You can always add, but you can't take away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is so yummy! It separated once but I added a splash of cold water and whisked really fast, just like one reviewer said to do. It saved the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Davidson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Thanx so much for all the glowing reviews -- my grandmother has since passed, and it warms my heart to know that her cooking has touched so many people :)................................................ Edit: For those of you having trouble with curdling, it is key that the top of the double boiler be ABOVE (not sitting in) the simmering (not boiling) water to prevent overheating. Also, make sure you whisk in the lemon juice OFF the heat. America's Test Kitchen just released their recipe, and it is almost identical in technique. As for the amount of lemon juice, this is how it was served to me my entire childhood, and I always found it bland at restaurants, so experiment to find your personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
De-lish! I landed on this recipe after my first attempt bombed. This worked beautifully - make sure you don't give the eggs too much heat or they'll scramble!! I didn't add the lemon juice but just a dash of vinegar. Had it with eggs benny - made enough for 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
A big lemon taste. We used fresh squeezed lemon so it had a full favor as apposed to the acidic taste of the non fresh variety. We served it over an Italian version of eggs Benedict (prosciutto and rustic Italian bread instead of Canadian bacon and English muffins) A keeper, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peterdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Excellent hollandaise sauce recipe. I made this with eggs benedict. The amount of lemon juice was perfect for me. If it begins to separate, just add a splash of cold water and whisk very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is very simple. I doubled everything except the lemon juice and it was still to much. I will make this again but 1 1/2 teaspoons instead of a full 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomom3273

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Definitely a keeper. Half a lemon was perfect for me. I used Louisiana Hot Sauce instead of cayenne. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States