Southern Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Did not like this version of Hollandaise. Adding water made it unstable. Too much lemon for my taste. I was expecting a creamier and smother product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Putting egg yolks first into the double boiler and beating them on their own is a recipe for scrambled eggs rather than hollandaise. Also, I found that this ended up tasting really weak and too lemony. The hollandaise in the picture looks completely different from what I made. Definitely needed more egg yolks and no water. The water just makes it taste...watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I ended up with scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I love hollandaise sauce, but this came out horrible. We followed the recipe exactly, but it came out clumpy, watery and way too sour. Even if there was flavor there, the lemon killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really like this technique and I think doing it this way saved me. I had some frozen egg yolks left over from making meringue so I quadrupled the recipe. I think the majority of the issues I had were due to the egg yolks being frozen but when I added the butter they curdled and looked like a nasty mess. Rather than throw it away I decided to blend it with a stick blender, and it still looked nasty. Then I added the water because I figured it was just water. Once I added the water and stick blended it, it magically transformed into the perfect Hollandaise. I didn't end up adding the full amount of water because I think it would have been runny and maybe you want to watch the salt because mine was pretty salty (but that's preference anyway). It would have been a bit lemony for my taste so I just added a small amount at a time. It is a very forgiving technique and the sauce held much longer than other's I've made. I'm pretty sure the majority of my difficulties came from using frozen egg yolks and quadrupuling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I usually use the Knoor brand hollandaise sauce packet but this was just as easy and so much more flavor. I only used 1 1/2 tsp of lemon juice and no cayenne. Served over eggs benedict and even my picky hubs said this was a do over.. I'll not be buying the packets anymore, this will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
New favorite! Followed recipe as written and this was so yummy! I've only made the blender recipe before & this was much easier to keep warm and tasted so good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
A good, simple and easy hollandaise. I can whip this up quickly for eggs benedict, which is what I wanted it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmjae2000
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made hollandaise for the first time using this recipe and it turned out great. For my kids taste they felt it was a little too "lemony" so I reduced that in my next batch, but the consistency is great and I love the pinch of cayenne pepper to it. I absolutely love it served over my sausage and potato hash and an over easy egg :) This will be me go to recipe for hollandaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Not sure what happened...followed the recipe exactly and it never thickened and did not taste good. There was no flavor at all to the sauce and it was very thin. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States