Southern Ham and Brown Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
My favorite pinto bean recipe so far. I cooked this recipe with the modifications suggested on Dec 09, 2010 regarding the overnight soak and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except for that step. I served it with cheese/jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I'm the original submitter for this recipe and I'd just like to give a quick side note... The liquid should be 4 cups water, 4 cups chicken or veggie broth, the salt should not be added til towards the end of cooking. Why Allrecipes editors changed this, is beyond me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I have been looking for this. I saved my ham bone from Xmas and wanted to make this, but I couldn't figure out how. Well now i know and my son loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
YUM. The only ham & bean soup I've ever had was made with dried navy beans. That's what I *was* planning on making until I realized my pantry only had a bag of Pinto beans. Am I ever glad. This was delicious!! Took the advice of another reviewer and 'brined' the beans overnight. Drained that water off and then followed the recipe as written (with suggested 6 hour cook time). Delicious. Perfect for a supper on a night the temperature is already at 10 degrees F!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yummy and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Oh my gosh, the smell is so yummy! I really loved the flavor. I used chicken broth instead of water. I couldn't believe the person that said it lacked flavor. I've never used ham hocks before. I believe that is what makes this so flavorful. I waited to the end to add salt, but I don't think it needs it. I believe the ham hocks provided plenty of flavor, along with the other ingredients. This is now my favorite bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haysley
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Two thumbs up from everyone in the house. I made this using a meaty ham bone from Christmas and simmered for 4.5 hours (got a late start) but it still made a nice New Years' Day meal with sweet cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this because my mother (who doesn't cook anymore) had been requesting beans. I dreaded making them because I remember bland tasteless mush from my childhood. These were a good surprise, and even my Mom liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe was so good.. I added some cumin, gazon mexican spice package and cilantro. I slow cooked them in the crock pot all day, my family loved them.. Served it with corn bread.. I'll definitely make this meal again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Quick and easy, substituted habanero chile powder for the chili powder (should have cut the amount in half) so it was pretty spicy. Served with Beer Bread and boiled cabbage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States