Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Easy, good enough to serve company for dinner with whole grilled sausages thrown on top, salade and/or roll. Leftovers I used for breakfast. Needs a bit more salt I think than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
We're always looking for brunch recipes, and this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
At the request of the recipe submitter, we have updated this recipe to include a step for lightly scrambling the eggs before mixing into the grits! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is one of my familys favorites & we don't normally like grits. I do, however, cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 1/4 cup as IMO it's too eggy with 12. But other than my personal taste, this casserole is a keeper. My family eats it with a good shake of tobasco sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This quickly became a family favorite. I was even asked to make it for Christmas morning, foregoing a 25 year tradition of serving a different egg casserole. People not fond of grits like it, and leftovers are great. My youngest daughter claims it is even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Best ever grits casserole! The light scrambling of eggs prior to mixing into grits makes for great texture. No doubt a 5 star recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
For an easy potluck brunch dish, this is a winner. Got rave reviews and no leftovers! The key is to salt the boiling water before adding the grits. Once grits are cooked, you have to add tons of salt to get any flavor. Also, I accidently overscrambled the eggs, but adding a touch of milk to the casserole seemed to correct the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made grits casserole as a Christmas tradition for two decades and my family agreed that this recipe was even better than the one I normally use. I strongly recommend using stone-ground grits if you can find them; the difference is remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this for a work breakfast party we had. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I had to cook it longer than 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made it for christmas breakfast. My husband and family loved it .It makes alot for full recipe but it's still great when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States