Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit at a faculty breakfast. The trick is to season the grits with lots of salt and butter until the grits taste good before adding the remaining ingredients. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use eight eggs, instead of (12). I will definitely serve this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very good. I threw it all in the crockpot once combined and it turned out great. Made it again 2 weeks later and added crumbled bacon. I think that was better than the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is one of my familys favorites & we don't normally like grits. I do, however, cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 1/4 cup as IMO it's too eggy with 12. But other than my personal taste, this casserole is a keeper. My family eats it with a good shake of tobasco sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this recipe as written to serve 16 and I barely had a full spoon of left overs. I was feeding only 10 people and had 3 other large dishes just in case this one didnt workout. I prepared the recipe as listed and next time I will take the advice of other reviewers and half the amount of eggs from 12 to 6 a little too eggy for my liking. I also want to add something spicy like cayenne or red pepper flakes for a little heat. The GREAT part is that I was feeding a bunch of southern grits eaters and the dish was a huge hit at Easter Brunch. Old dogs can learn new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made grits casserole as a Christmas tradition for two decades and my family agreed that this recipe was even better than the one I normally use. I strongly recommend using stone-ground grits if you can find them; the difference is remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
For an easy potluck brunch dish, this is a winner. Got rave reviews and no leftovers! The key is to salt the boiling water before adding the grits. Once grits are cooked, you have to add tons of salt to get any flavor. Also, I accidently overscrambled the eggs, but adding a touch of milk to the casserole seemed to correct the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My mother makes a variation of this recipe. It is very similar but it has a bit more cheese and is seasoned well. This recipe is missing the flavor. We use 2 cups of cooked grits mix with 4 cups of cheeder cheese. Add in 5 beaten eggs 2 tbsp of worchestire sauce, 1 tsp of Thyme, 1 tsp of garlic, and salt to taste. Then add in 2 lbs of sausage. It is great. This one is good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was really good. I did use egg beaters in place of the eggs as well as reduced fat sausage & cheese. I also added some minced garlic & a can of green chiles. Served this at brunch & everyone loved it. They never even knew that I had "lightened" the recipe...and I didn't tell, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
LOVED IT!! I grew up on grits! My husband grew up in the south too but has never really cared for grits. I made this for breakfast this morning he LOVED it as well. I made the servings for 4, added precooked bacon in place of the sausage, I just threw the cheese in (we're cheese lovers) and used 2 eggs instead of 3 and it turned out perfect. My husband even requested the leftovers for his breakfast tomorrow! Can't wait to try this with ham in it after the holidays. My 14month old even loved this.He kept asking for more and more! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is simply delish with the following changes (based on other reviews) I used bacon, one onion browned, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, 4 cups sharp cheddar, 8 eggs instead of 12, added milk to substitute some of the water, be sure to salt and get the grits tasty (with the sauces and spices if you choose) before adding all the ingredients together and instead of baking I put mine in crackpot to keep warm....FANTASTICO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States