Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made grits casserole as a Christmas tradition for two decades and my family agreed that this recipe was even better than the one I normally use. I strongly recommend using stone-ground grits if you can find them; the difference is remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was great, but I prefer just plain old grits...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe. Quick and simple. I used smoked sausage instead because its all I had and I reduced the eggs by a few as well (like an earlier person stated). Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Best ever grits casserole! The light scrambling of eggs prior to mixing into grits makes for great texture. No doubt a 5 star recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Very good a big hit at the office. I did make a few changes however.I use light velveta rather than cheddar and topped with pilsbury biscuits. I then adjust the oven temp and cooking time to that suggested in the biscuit directions. Serve with homemade jam or preserves on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weims

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trion, Georgia, USA
Living In: Summerville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was good, quick recipe, and if you like grits, you will love this. I cut the recipe in half, and it turned out well. The grits were light and fluffy with a buttery taste to it, and it kept hot for a while (so it's good for brunches and the like). In place of the sausage, I used some leftover ham steaks that I had fried up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I was a little disappointed in this. It was okay, but not as good as I'd hoped it would be. I halved the recipe for four people and still had enough for one of my guests to take home, and for us to eat the next day. It makes a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is one of my familys favorites & we don't normally like grits. I do, however, cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 1/4 cup as IMO it's too eggy with 12. But other than my personal taste, this casserole is a keeper. My family eats it with a good shake of tobasco sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was good. I substituted the ground pork sausage with ground turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
At the request of the recipe submitter, we have updated this recipe to include a step for lightly scrambling the eggs before mixing into the grits! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States