Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My mother makes a variation of this recipe. It is very similar but it has a bit more cheese and is seasoned well. This recipe is missing the flavor. We use 2 cups of cooked grits mix with 4 cups of cheeder cheese. Add in 5 beaten eggs 2 tbsp of worchestire sauce, 1 tsp of Thyme, 1 tsp of garlic, and salt to taste. Then add in 2 lbs of sausage. It is great. This one is good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Love it, Love it, Love it! I used italian pork sausage and the spiciness added a wonderful unexpected zap! I made this for my family during a recent visit and everyone raved over it. I thought my brother was going to eat the whole pan! Will definitely make this again. We are from Alabama, so grits are a staple in our cupbards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Used conecuh cut up very small and it was just as good, if not better. Also used less cheese and added some tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made this last year for our Christmas breakfast. No one liked it. It was very dry and bland. We made bacon and eggs instead. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very yummy dish...but as usual I didn't have all the ingredients so I improvised. I omitted the meat and added sliced mushrooms and chopped onion. I didn't have grits so used polenta, and didn't have cheddar so used monterey jack cheese. I only used half the amount of eggs. I can tell this would be very good as written and will try it that way when I have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kobly Krieman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
My husband HATED grits, until I made this for him. Now he eats it all the time! I love this recipe. It's chock full of great southern flavor (fattening! ;)) and was a real hit at my house. I made a large batch of grits the day before for breakfast, so I just went ahead and used the saved grits for this meal (to lighten my load) and it still tasted superb! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
GREAT Recipe...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My husband is from the south and he loves grits. He usually only eats grits with a bit of cheese so I thought I'd surprise him by making this recipe for him. He absolutely loved it! I prepared all of the ingredients in the morning and let the casserole sit in the fridge until lunch time. My oven tends to cook things slightly faster and I found the casserole was good and brown in just 15 minutes. My husband gave this casserole his highest rating. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a huge hit at a recent gathering. I used hot sausage to give this a little extra kick. I will make this again. Thanks for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good! Brought it to a Christmas party and was asked several times for the recipe. Will most likely make again and it is fairly easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States