Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was fantastic! The texture and flavor are so much better than an egg casserole that uses bread or croutons and I think the leftovers will keep better as well. I used 10 eggs instead of 12 (simply because that was all I had) and it turned out just fine. Took the advice of the other reviews to make sure the grits were seasoned to my family's taste before I mixed them with the other ingredients, I think that probably made a big difference. You could season with whatever flavors you enjoy. I did simply salt, pepper and tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for the women of my church... i blindly made it hoping it would be delicious... and it was! there wasn't any left and half of the women asked for the recipe! THANK YOU for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
After several years of my mediocre breakfast casserole, I tried this recipe and FINALLY have a go-to recipe that everyone loves :) The first time I made it, I accidentally forgot to lightly scramble the eggs (just poured it in with the grits right before transferring to pan). It was AWESOME. The next time I did the scrambling step and was surprised I didn't like the texture as well. So I plan to always skip the scrambling step. Also, I think sharp cheddar goes great in this recipe. The second time I used wahtever cheese was on hand (no sharp) and I could tell the flavor was a little different (but still really good!). Love love love this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made. But, with those changes, the opinion here is that it is 5-star dish. I used 8 eggs instead of 12. I added 2 Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. I assembled the casserole, except for the last 1 cup of cheese, and then froze it. When it came time to serve it, I pulled it out of the freezer early in the morning and heated it in a 325 degree oven until warmed through. I put the final cup of cheese on top and put back in the oven for a few minutes until the cheese was melted. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I make a similar one where the grits are cooked in beef broth. Gives it a great depth of flavor. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The men in this household raved about this casserole. Season your grits and eggs as you cook them (prior to combining) and you will have a winner. I also added garlic powder, cut the eggs back to 8 and added bacon bits along with the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The foundation of this recipe is great but after reading the reviews, I decided to make a few changes. I used Old Fashion Grits, Pepper Jack cheese instead of Cheddar, sweet Italian sausage instead of pork and 6 eggs instead of 12 and 1/4 cup of milk. I also added some Tony's to my grits. It was a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So yummy! Do yourself a favor prep cheese and cook sausage before you start the grits. I'm going to add bacon next.time. I also added chives on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moonrain24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great casserole!! I used precooked sausage patties and just diced them up to speed up the process...worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this without reading the reviews and everything cited was going to be in this review. Although I had the quick-cooking grits on hand, next time I would go for the stone ground or old-fashioned grits (healthier: higher glycemic index). Other healthier alternatives that I used were low fat cheese, turkey sausage, half the eggs, and low fat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States