Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We didn't care for this. It was no easier or more convenient than one of our regular Sunday breakfasts which serves the cheese grits, scrambled eggs and sausage separately. I thought doing this in casserole form would make it easier while being just as tasty for my family of hearty eaters. Couldn't have been more wrong. Having to cook the grits and sausage before hand didn't save ANY prep time at all and the finished product was barely edible. No one in my family had seconds which is a VERY bad sign. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Didn't change anything in this recipe. Was a test run for a huge family gathering coming up and my sister makes a version of this. However, her eggs are scrambled but added to the mixture raw and then baked. We liked the recipe very much and even when it got cold. The only thing negative I might add, is that I could have reduced the butter on the last step to half the amount it suggested. Because it was slightly oily. I used an 8x10 baking pan but could easily used an 11x13 because the ingredients were to the brim of the baking pan. It was nice to fix on the whim and was a great dinner when I didn't want to have anything traditional ;-) It's keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Prepared this for a church breakfast and followed recommendations of other reviews. Works really well in crock pot to keep dish hot. Also used bacon and only 8 eggs. It was a hit and had just enough left-over to bring some home to hungry teen-age son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delecious! I made for a group of friends who had never eaten grits and they all loved it. I only used 7 eggs and about 1/4 cup of milk based on other reviews. Other than that I made as written. I also seasoned my grits before mixing with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
For a little twist, try adding some canned chopped green chiles, tomato or onion and a little chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe on Christmas morning every year for the past 5 years. This Christmas will be no different! All of my children's grandparents and cousins and aunts /uncle come over and everyone loves it and looks forward to it every year! Takes me a little longer than an hour as the prep and cook time states, but it's worth every second extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I make it for dinner and my picky eater 14 year old eats 2 or 3 servings. My only change to the recipe is I use 8 eggs. The hubby loves it with lots of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I cooked this for my work bunch and not a bit left! I also used less eggs, 8, and everyone wanted the recipe! easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was fantastic! The texture and flavor are so much better than an egg casserole that uses bread or croutons and I think the leftovers will keep better as well. I used 10 eggs instead of 12 (simply because that was all I had) and it turned out just fine. Took the advice of the other reviews to make sure the grits were seasoned to my family's taste before I mixed them with the other ingredients, I think that probably made a big difference. You could season with whatever flavors you enjoy. I did simply salt, pepper and tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for the women of my church... i blindly made it hoping it would be delicious... and it was! there wasn't any left and half of the women asked for the recipe! THANK YOU for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States