Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I just tried this and loved it. I've been looking for a breakfast casserole for Christmas when my family will be at my house, and this is the recipe. For my trial run, I added some chopped onions and bell peppers and it was delicious. It's a good basic southern recipe, and I plan to serve it with a big fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a huge hit everywhere I take it and everyone wants the recipe! I also cut the eggs down to 6,but kept the milk the same. I use monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheeses, added fresh garlic and a small can of green chilies. Gave it a nice pizazz! Nnever any leftovers! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Family loved it.So simple, but so good. You can alter it to suite your family's tastes. I tried it as written and it was super. I change it up a little every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We didn't care for this. It was no easier or more convenient than one of our regular Sunday breakfasts which serves the cheese grits, scrambled eggs and sausage separately. I thought doing this in casserole form would make it easier while being just as tasty for my family of hearty eaters. Couldn't have been more wrong. Having to cook the grits and sausage before hand didn't save ANY prep time at all and the finished product was barely edible. No one in my family had seconds which is a VERY bad sign. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Didn't change anything in this recipe. Was a test run for a huge family gathering coming up and my sister makes a version of this. However, her eggs are scrambled but added to the mixture raw and then baked. We liked the recipe very much and even when it got cold. The only thing negative I might add, is that I could have reduced the butter on the last step to half the amount it suggested. Because it was slightly oily. I used an 8x10 baking pan but could easily used an 11x13 because the ingredients were to the brim of the baking pan. It was nice to fix on the whim and was a great dinner when I didn't want to have anything traditional ;-) It's keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Prepared this for a church breakfast and followed recommendations of other reviews. Works really well in crock pot to keep dish hot. Also used bacon and only 8 eggs. It was a hit and had just enough left-over to bring some home to hungry teen-age son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delecious! I made for a group of friends who had never eaten grits and they all loved it. I only used 7 eggs and about 1/4 cup of milk based on other reviews. Other than that I made as written. I also seasoned my grits before mixing with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
For a little twist, try adding some canned chopped green chiles, tomato or onion and a little chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe on Christmas morning every year for the past 5 years. This Christmas will be no different! All of my children's grandparents and cousins and aunts /uncle come over and everyone loves it and looks forward to it every year! Takes me a little longer than an hour as the prep and cook time states, but it's worth every second extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I make it for dinner and my picky eater 14 year old eats 2 or 3 servings. My only change to the recipe is I use 8 eggs. The hubby loves it with lots of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States