Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious and filling. I think next time I'd add some jalapenos for some crunch and some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This casserole is so delicious! I added four ounces of green chilies to my half-batch recipe and it was so good! Friends loved it when I served it. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The taste is awesome, and I love grits and eggs very much, but the only issue I had was that it didn't set up very well. I'd hoped to wrap "bars" to take with me to school for breakfast, eliminating the need for a container, but it's just too wet and won't hold a shape to do it. I'll still make it again, because I absolutely love how it tastes, and I need a good, non-Starbucks purchased breakfast :) This was altogether less for 16 breakfasts than I pay for ONE at Starbucks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Are
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Only my 3rd time ever cooking and tastes great, easy to make for beginners! Only 2nd time having grits. I used turkey meat for replacement of sausage!! I also added a lot of spice. I like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a FABULOUS recipe! Seriously, SO good--definitely becoming a staple in our house! My husband loved it, too. However, I did make two small changes. One--I only made 8 eggs, because 12 seemed like too much, but I think in the end, it would have been fine. Eight seemed a little skimpy; the grits are very overpowering. Secondly, I only cooked it in the oven for 15 minutes and that came out great. I think 30 would have been too long--everything was already cooked separately and I didn't want burnt eggs, so. Anyway, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved this dish! To give the grits a little more flavor I ended up doing 3 cups water and 3 cups milk for the grits. And I also added a pound of turkey bacon. I fried the bacon and then shredded the bacon in a food processor. I also used turkey sausage instead of pork. I made my own turkey sausage. Its really easy. My kids loved the dish and went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I halved the recipe to decrease the portion size, except did use almost the whole pound of sausauge. Only mixed one raw egg into the grits to help them set-up. The rest of the eggs I scrambled separately (be sure to season them with salt and pepper). I layered half the grits in bottom of a large oval slow cooker. Added layer of cooked sausage, layer of scrambled egg, layered rest of grits and topped with the cheese. Left in slow cooker on low for 20 mins or so for the raw egg in the grits to cook and set-up. I was very pleased with the result. Putting it all in a crock-pot was key to keeping the grits nice and creamy, and would work well for a brunch buffet, or if everyone can't sit down and eat together right when it comes out of the oven. Otherwise the grits will get cold and yucky. Layering the ingredients makes it look more like the above picture, and we liked being able to actually taste cooked scramble egg in the casserole. If not the egg just dissapears when you mix it raw into the grits. *Note- you must heavily salt the water when it comes to a boil before adding your grits! Otherwise, you will never get them salty enough. Taste them before building your casserole. They need to taste good on their own too. Only drawback to this recipe is the number of pots and pans that you have to dirty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I just tried this and loved it. I've been looking for a breakfast casserole for Christmas when my family will be at my house, and this is the recipe. For my trial run, I added some chopped onions and bell peppers and it was delicious. It's a good basic southern recipe, and I plan to serve it with a big fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a huge hit everywhere I take it and everyone wants the recipe! I also cut the eggs down to 6,but kept the milk the same. I use monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheeses, added fresh garlic and a small can of green chilies. Gave it a nice pizazz! Nnever any leftovers! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Family loved it.So simple, but so good. You can alter it to suite your family's tastes. I tried it as written and it was super. I change it up a little every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States