Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Just made this and it was really good, a keeper. I added onions & garlic to the sausage and a handful of Pecorino Ramano cheese along with sharp cheddar to the grits.I tasted the grits several times to make sure they were seasoned properly before adding the eggs. I only made a 1/2 recipe using 4 eggs because My husband doesn't like grits at all and didn't want me to make this. Good thing I don't listen to him, he loved it and said make sure to keep that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Yum! I've made this several times because it's so easy and yummy. I typically use a Mexican cheese blend and spicy sausage, and add in a small can of green chilis to give it some kick. Delicious! Thanks for this one - it's already a go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Statler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It was greasy, salty, and heavy. It seemed to have all the right elements, but they didn't total up to a good dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for black friday morning, big hit for the whole family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Bledsoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious and filling. I think next time I'd add some jalapenos for some crunch and some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This casserole is so delicious! I added four ounces of green chilies to my half-batch recipe and it was so good! Friends loved it when I served it. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The taste is awesome, and I love grits and eggs very much, but the only issue I had was that it didn't set up very well. I'd hoped to wrap "bars" to take with me to school for breakfast, eliminating the need for a container, but it's just too wet and won't hold a shape to do it. I'll still make it again, because I absolutely love how it tastes, and I need a good, non-Starbucks purchased breakfast :) This was altogether less for 16 breakfasts than I pay for ONE at Starbucks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Are
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Only my 3rd time ever cooking and tastes great, easy to make for beginners! Only 2nd time having grits. I used turkey meat for replacement of sausage!! I also added a lot of spice. I like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a FABULOUS recipe! Seriously, SO good--definitely becoming a staple in our house! My husband loved it, too. However, I did make two small changes. One--I only made 8 eggs, because 12 seemed like too much, but I think in the end, it would have been fine. Eight seemed a little skimpy; the grits are very overpowering. Secondly, I only cooked it in the oven for 15 minutes and that came out great. I think 30 would have been too long--everything was already cooked separately and I didn't want burnt eggs, so. Anyway, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved this dish! To give the grits a little more flavor I ended up doing 3 cups water and 3 cups milk for the grits. And I also added a pound of turkey bacon. I fried the bacon and then shredded the bacon in a food processor. I also used turkey sausage instead of pork. I made my own turkey sausage. Its really easy. My kids loved the dish and went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States