Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is one of my familys favorites & we don't normally like grits. I do, however, cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 1/4 cup as IMO it's too eggy with 12. But other than my personal taste, this casserole is a keeper. My family eats it with a good shake of tobasco sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was good. I substituted the ground pork sausage with ground turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
At the request of the recipe submitter, we have updated this recipe to include a step for lightly scrambling the eggs before mixing into the grits! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was really good. I did use egg beaters in place of the eggs as well as reduced fat sausage & cheese. I also added some minced garlic & a can of green chiles. Served this at brunch & everyone loved it. They never even knew that I had "lightened" the recipe...and I didn't tell, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made this for church pot luck. Everyone loved it. The flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Very good breakfast casserole. I recommend that the grits have a thick consistency before adding the other ingredients. Mine turned out a little runny, but the taste was good, nevertheless. Recommend for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This quickly became a family favorite. I was even asked to make it for Christmas morning, foregoing a 25 year tradition of serving a different egg casserole. People not fond of grits like it, and leftovers are great. My youngest daughter claims it is even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made it for christmas breakfast. My husband and family loved it .It makes alot for full recipe but it's still great when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a good recipe, it tasted like cheese grits with sausage in them, but not something I would call extraordinary. The only warning is that is completely fills a 9x13 pan and it is alot of food, so scale down the recipe if you are making this for only a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These were a hit! I made this casserole for a ladies breakfast, and all the southern ladies dove right in! Even the northerners ate it too! I had reduced the servings by 1/2 and it turned out wonderful. I would however, add more cheese into the grits/sausage mixture. This will be a keeper. I've eaten some leftovers with a salad & roll for lunch. This would make a nice light supper dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States