Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was really good. I did use egg beaters in place of the eggs as well as reduced fat sausage & cheese. I also added some minced garlic & a can of green chiles. Served this at brunch & everyone loved it. They never even knew that I had "lightened" the recipe...and I didn't tell, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made this for church pot luck. Everyone loved it. The flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Very good breakfast casserole. I recommend that the grits have a thick consistency before adding the other ingredients. Mine turned out a little runny, but the taste was good, nevertheless. Recommend for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This quickly became a family favorite. I was even asked to make it for Christmas morning, foregoing a 25 year tradition of serving a different egg casserole. People not fond of grits like it, and leftovers are great. My youngest daughter claims it is even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made it for christmas breakfast. My husband and family loved it .It makes alot for full recipe but it's still great when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a good recipe, it tasted like cheese grits with sausage in them, but not something I would call extraordinary. The only warning is that is completely fills a 9x13 pan and it is alot of food, so scale down the recipe if you are making this for only a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These were a hit! I made this casserole for a ladies breakfast, and all the southern ladies dove right in! Even the northerners ate it too! I had reduced the servings by 1/2 and it turned out wonderful. I would however, add more cheese into the grits/sausage mixture. This will be a keeper. I've eaten some leftovers with a salad & roll for lunch. This would make a nice light supper dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
We're always looking for brunch recipes, and this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this for a work breakfast party we had. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I had to cook it longer than 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Easy, good enough to serve company for dinner with whole grilled sausages thrown on top, salade and/or roll. Leftovers I used for breakfast. Needs a bit more salt I think than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States