Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for a family brunch, and while everybody ate it, nobody thought it was fantastic, or even really good. very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this recipe as written to serve 16 and I barely had a full spoon of left overs. I was feeding only 10 people and had 3 other large dishes just in case this one didnt workout. I prepared the recipe as listed and next time I will take the advice of other reviewers and half the amount of eggs from 12 to 6 a little too eggy for my liking. I also want to add something spicy like cayenne or red pepper flakes for a little heat. The GREAT part is that I was feeding a bunch of southern grits eaters and the dish was a huge hit at Easter Brunch. Old dogs can learn new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
For an easy potluck brunch dish, this is a winner. Got rave reviews and no leftovers! The key is to salt the boiling water before adding the grits. Once grits are cooked, you have to add tons of salt to get any flavor. Also, I accidently overscrambled the eggs, but adding a touch of milk to the casserole seemed to correct the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very good. I threw it all in the crockpot once combined and it turned out great. Made it again 2 weeks later and added crumbled bacon. I think that was better than the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made grits casserole as a Christmas tradition for two decades and my family agreed that this recipe was even better than the one I normally use. I strongly recommend using stone-ground grits if you can find them; the difference is remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was great, but I prefer just plain old grits...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe. Quick and simple. I used smoked sausage instead because its all I had and I reduced the eggs by a few as well (like an earlier person stated). Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Best ever grits casserole! The light scrambling of eggs prior to mixing into grits makes for great texture. No doubt a 5 star recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Very good a big hit at the office. I did make a few changes however.I use light velveta rather than cheddar and topped with pilsbury biscuits. I then adjust the oven temp and cooking time to that suggested in the biscuit directions. Serve with homemade jam or preserves on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weims

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trion, Georgia, USA
Living In: Summerville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was good, quick recipe, and if you like grits, you will love this. I cut the recipe in half, and it turned out well. The grits were light and fluffy with a buttery taste to it, and it kept hot for a while (so it's good for brunches and the like). In place of the sausage, I used some leftover ham steaks that I had fried up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States