Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My husband is from the south and he loves grits. He usually only eats grits with a bit of cheese so I thought I'd surprise him by making this recipe for him. He absolutely loved it! I prepared all of the ingredients in the morning and let the casserole sit in the fridge until lunch time. My oven tends to cook things slightly faster and I found the casserole was good and brown in just 15 minutes. My husband gave this casserole his highest rating. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouperWoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a huge hit at a recent gathering. I used hot sausage to give this a little extra kick. I will make this again. Thanks for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good! Brought it to a Christmas party and was asked several times for the recipe. Will most likely make again and it is fairly easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit at a faculty breakfast. The trick is to season the grits with lots of salt and butter until the grits taste good before adding the remaining ingredients. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use eight eggs, instead of (12). I will definitely serve this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this for a baby shower and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is sooo yoummy! I just wanted to say to a previous reviewer that you are right when you say this dish is a bit time consumming. But in the south, a lot of times this is a dish that is normally made from leftovers. After a big breakfast of sausage, eggs and grits, and sometimes bacon, all is mixed up together and reheated as a casserole the next day. It is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Even though the flavor of this dish is good,it was time consuming to make. After making the grits,sausage and scrambled eggs in pans separately,it seemed silly to mix together and dirty another dish,then wait for it to bake. Maybe I was just hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I halved it, and used only 4 eggs based on other reviews. I added a lot of garlic salt and hot sauce, because I wouldn't make any other egg casserole with out adding some seasonings. Also, I used a really delicious sausage that has bacon in it. I'm from Iowa, and we love our pork! My husband begged me to make it again. The second time I used all the eggs, and we didn't like it as well. So, a very good recipe, but we liked it better with a few alterations. We enjoyed trying something different than our regular breakfast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Ella, you know I love this casserole. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for a family brunch, and while everybody ate it, nobody thought it was fantastic, or even really good. very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States