Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Very good! I made this for a MOPS meeting and everyone was raving. I used kielbasa (browned) instead of ground pork and 10 eggs. Agree with other reviewers that the key here is seasoning and I used a fairly heavy hand, adding onion & garlic powder and Tabasco generously. I also prepared it the night before and baked the morning of so it would be hot for the meeting. I added a touch of milk before heating it up to ensure it wouldn't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuLait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla H.
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Besides being pretty, my co-workers LOVED this for a breakfast potluck. It has now been added to my go-to list for meals everyone will eat! I did think it was a little bland tasting the first time I made it, so I added a little very finely grated yellow onion to the sausage grease, cooked it until soft, and then added to the grits mixture. The trick is making sure the grits are seasoned well prior to adding anything to them. I prefer to add kosher salt to the boiling water (not sure why but they always seem to taste better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I halved the recipe. Used turkey bacon instead of sausage (just what i had on hand), used 1 less egg than called for. Season generously. We loved it!!! I had more servings than I should have ;-) Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGinCOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is very good and easy, perfect breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Heaven. I do use 8 eggs instead of 12, and I season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. My idea of one of the yummiest things on Earth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Oh my gosh this should get 10 stars! It was so easy and we all loved it. This will be a new staple at our breakfast table when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I make this in the morning when all the men are out hunting and keep it in the oven so when they come in at different times it is warm and I'm not in the kitchen all morning. I also add a can of green chili peppers. Give's it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
LOVED IT!! I grew up on grits! My husband grew up in the south too but has never really cared for grits. I made this for breakfast this morning he LOVED it as well. I made the servings for 4, added precooked bacon in place of the sausage, I just threw the cheese in (we're cheese lovers) and used 2 eggs instead of 3 and it turned out perfect. My husband even requested the leftovers for his breakfast tomorrow! Can't wait to try this with ham in it after the holidays. My 14month old even loved this.He kept asking for more and more! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very bland. Will try adding Rotel next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States