Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great casserole!! I used precooked sausage patties and just diced them up to speed up the process...worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this without reading the reviews and everything cited was going to be in this review. Although I had the quick-cooking grits on hand, next time I would go for the stone ground or old-fashioned grits (healthier: higher glycemic index). Other healthier alternatives that I used were low fat cheese, turkey sausage, half the eggs, and low fat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good. I too suggest cutting down on the eggs. I also didn't scramble them beforehand, but mixed in with all the other ingredients last before putting it in the oven. Some green pepper and onion sauteed with the sausage really adds to the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe, and a few who didn't think they liked grits were its biggest fans :) I did make a few alterations; I really seasoned the water the grits were cooked in (salt & pepper) and added a small can of diced green chilies when I stirred the butter and cheese in. I used bacon instead of sausage, but the bacon gets soft and is not as appealing, so I would definitely use sausage next time. When scrambling the eggs, I would leave them chunky so you would have discernible bites of egg in the casserole. I also added a can of diced green chilies to the egg mixture, and used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar. The dish was medium-level spicy, but everyone loved it. It doesn't re-heat (say in the microwave) with the same consistency because grits keep absorbing available moisture, so you need to cook and stir it in a pot on the stove top with a little added milk or butter to make it creamy again. VERY yummy, love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used bacon instead of sausage, and it was a big hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I might slightly decrease the amount of grits, but this is a delicious dish. To help reduce the fat content, I used a stick of I Can't Believe It's Butter, 2% milk shredded cheese, and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made this for my family and they loved it. I have small children so cut recipe in half. I used half the number of eggs rec'd. Season the grits as you usually would. Had some extra sharp white cheddar left over from Christmas and added some of that as well along with some dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used bacon instead of the sausage (cause I don't like sausage) & even my super picky, breakfast food hater college student daughter LOVED it! Thank you so much for something that pleases the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is simply delish with the following changes (based on other reviews) I used bacon, one onion browned, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, 4 cups sharp cheddar, 8 eggs instead of 12, added milk to substitute some of the water, be sure to salt and get the grits tasty (with the sauces and spices if you choose) before adding all the ingredients together and instead of baking I put mine in crackpot to keep warm....FANTASTICO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Quite tasty! Use a wooden (or other sturdy material) spoon for mixing. I also recommend a Dutch oven rather than a saucepan. Also, I would recommend seasoning with salt and pepper as you mix in the scrambled eggs... a lot less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States