Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used bacon instead of sausage, and it was a big hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I might slightly decrease the amount of grits, but this is a delicious dish. To help reduce the fat content, I used a stick of I Can't Believe It's Butter, 2% milk shredded cheese, and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made this for my family and they loved it. I have small children so cut recipe in half. I used half the number of eggs rec'd. Season the grits as you usually would. Had some extra sharp white cheddar left over from Christmas and added some of that as well along with some dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used bacon instead of the sausage (cause I don't like sausage) & even my super picky, breakfast food hater college student daughter LOVED it! Thank you so much for something that pleases the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is simply delish with the following changes (based on other reviews) I used bacon, one onion browned, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, 4 cups sharp cheddar, 8 eggs instead of 12, added milk to substitute some of the water, be sure to salt and get the grits tasty (with the sauces and spices if you choose) before adding all the ingredients together and instead of baking I put mine in crackpot to keep warm....FANTASTICO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Quite tasty! Use a wooden (or other sturdy material) spoon for mixing. I also recommend a Dutch oven rather than a saucepan. Also, I would recommend seasoning with salt and pepper as you mix in the scrambled eggs... a lot less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I love this meal! The recipe I use is very similar but uses smaller amounts and isn't nearly as bland as what this one is. Mine has a few minor changes such as using beef bouillon instead of water. I posted the recipe....look for Sausage Grits Casserole. It's kind of unfair to rate a recipe and then list all the changes that one makes to make it a 5 star recipe so I gave this recipe only 3 stars for "needs improvement".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Very good! I made this for a MOPS meeting and everyone was raving. I used kielbasa (browned) instead of ground pork and 10 eggs. Agree with other reviewers that the key here is seasoning and I used a fairly heavy hand, adding onion & garlic powder and Tabasco generously. I also prepared it the night before and baked the morning of so it would be hot for the meeting. I added a touch of milk before heating it up to ensure it wouldn't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuLait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla H.
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Besides being pretty, my co-workers LOVED this for a breakfast potluck. It has now been added to my go-to list for meals everyone will eat! I did think it was a little bland tasting the first time I made it, so I added a little very finely grated yellow onion to the sausage grease, cooked it until soft, and then added to the grits mixture. The trick is making sure the grits are seasoned well prior to adding anything to them. I prefer to add kosher salt to the boiling water (not sure why but they always seem to taste better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I halved the recipe. Used turkey bacon instead of sausage (just what i had on hand), used 1 less egg than called for. Season generously. We loved it!!! I had more servings than I should have ;-) Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGinCOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States