Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I halved the recipe to decrease the portion size, except did use almost the whole pound of sausauge. Only mixed one raw egg into the grits to help them set-up. The rest of the eggs I scrambled separately (be sure to season them with salt and pepper). I layered half the grits in bottom of a large oval slow cooker. Added layer of cooked sausage, layer of scrambled egg, layered rest of grits and topped with the cheese. Left in slow cooker on low for 20 mins or so for the raw egg in the grits to cook and set-up. I was very pleased with the result. Putting it all in a crock-pot was key to keeping the grits nice and creamy, and would work well for a brunch buffet, or if everyone can't sit down and eat together right when it comes out of the oven. Otherwise the grits will get cold and yucky. Layering the ingredients makes it look more like the above picture, and we liked being able to actually taste cooked scramble egg in the casserole. If not the egg just dissapears when you mix it raw into the grits. *Note- you must heavily salt the water when it comes to a boil before adding your grits! Otherwise, you will never get them salty enough. Taste them before building your casserole. They need to taste good on their own too. Only drawback to this recipe is the number of pots and pans that you have to dirty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I just tried this and loved it. I've been looking for a breakfast casserole for Christmas when my family will be at my house, and this is the recipe. For my trial run, I added some chopped onions and bell peppers and it was delicious. It's a good basic southern recipe, and I plan to serve it with a big fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a huge hit everywhere I take it and everyone wants the recipe! I also cut the eggs down to 6,but kept the milk the same. I use monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheeses, added fresh garlic and a small can of green chilies. Gave it a nice pizazz! Nnever any leftovers! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Family loved it.So simple, but so good. You can alter it to suite your family's tastes. I tried it as written and it was super. I change it up a little every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We didn't care for this. It was no easier or more convenient than one of our regular Sunday breakfasts which serves the cheese grits, scrambled eggs and sausage separately. I thought doing this in casserole form would make it easier while being just as tasty for my family of hearty eaters. Couldn't have been more wrong. Having to cook the grits and sausage before hand didn't save ANY prep time at all and the finished product was barely edible. No one in my family had seconds which is a VERY bad sign. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Didn't change anything in this recipe. Was a test run for a huge family gathering coming up and my sister makes a version of this. However, her eggs are scrambled but added to the mixture raw and then baked. We liked the recipe very much and even when it got cold. The only thing negative I might add, is that I could have reduced the butter on the last step to half the amount it suggested. Because it was slightly oily. I used an 8x10 baking pan but could easily used an 11x13 because the ingredients were to the brim of the baking pan. It was nice to fix on the whim and was a great dinner when I didn't want to have anything traditional ;-) It's keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Prepared this for a church breakfast and followed recommendations of other reviews. Works really well in crock pot to keep dish hot. Also used bacon and only 8 eggs. It was a hit and had just enough left-over to bring some home to hungry teen-age son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delecious! I made for a group of friends who had never eaten grits and they all loved it. I only used 7 eggs and about 1/4 cup of milk based on other reviews. Other than that I made as written. I also seasoned my grits before mixing with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
For a little twist, try adding some canned chopped green chiles, tomato or onion and a little chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe on Christmas morning every year for the past 5 years. This Christmas will be no different! All of my children's grandparents and cousins and aunts /uncle come over and everyone loves it and looks forward to it every year! Takes me a little longer than an hour as the prep and cook time states, but it's worth every second extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States