Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delecious! I made for a group of friends who had never eaten grits and they all loved it. I only used 7 eggs and about 1/4 cup of milk based on other reviews. Other than that I made as written. I also seasoned my grits before mixing with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
For a little twist, try adding some canned chopped green chiles, tomato or onion and a little chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe on Christmas morning every year for the past 5 years. This Christmas will be no different! All of my children's grandparents and cousins and aunts /uncle come over and everyone loves it and looks forward to it every year! Takes me a little longer than an hour as the prep and cook time states, but it's worth every second extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I make it for dinner and my picky eater 14 year old eats 2 or 3 servings. My only change to the recipe is I use 8 eggs. The hubby loves it with lots of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I cooked this for my work bunch and not a bit left! I also used less eggs, 8, and everyone wanted the recipe! easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was fantastic! The texture and flavor are so much better than an egg casserole that uses bread or croutons and I think the leftovers will keep better as well. I used 10 eggs instead of 12 (simply because that was all I had) and it turned out just fine. Took the advice of the other reviews to make sure the grits were seasoned to my family's taste before I mixed them with the other ingredients, I think that probably made a big difference. You could season with whatever flavors you enjoy. I did simply salt, pepper and tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for the women of my church... i blindly made it hoping it would be delicious... and it was! there wasn't any left and half of the women asked for the recipe! THANK YOU for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
After several years of my mediocre breakfast casserole, I tried this recipe and FINALLY have a go-to recipe that everyone loves :) The first time I made it, I accidentally forgot to lightly scramble the eggs (just poured it in with the grits right before transferring to pan). It was AWESOME. The next time I did the scrambling step and was surprised I didn't like the texture as well. So I plan to always skip the scrambling step. Also, I think sharp cheddar goes great in this recipe. The second time I used wahtever cheese was on hand (no sharp) and I could tell the flavor was a little different (but still really good!). Love love love this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made. But, with those changes, the opinion here is that it is 5-star dish. I used 8 eggs instead of 12. I added 2 Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. I assembled the casserole, except for the last 1 cup of cheese, and then froze it. When it came time to serve it, I pulled it out of the freezer early in the morning and heated it in a 325 degree oven until warmed through. I put the final cup of cheese on top and put back in the oven for a few minutes until the cheese was melted. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I make a similar one where the grits are cooked in beef broth. Gives it a great depth of flavor. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States