Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I've been doing ribs by this method for years and you appreciate it even more in winter where grilling 5-6 hr ribs is not an option. (In winter, you would finish this recipe off topped with the sauce in a 450 degree oven instead of on the grill.) A few suggestions from my experience. I add a bit of liquid smoke to the vinegar mixture so that it permeates the ribs when baking (also throw in a few cloves of garlic, bay leaf, salt and pepper). I take off the foil after 45 minutes of baking but continue baking until the yummy liquid evaporates(the flavor gets more concentrated in the meat that way). The beauty is that this step can be done even a few days ahead. When done baking, I just let the ribs cool and refrigerate until I need them. Then, just take out 1 hr before party/ dinner, baste generously w/sauce and grill/ bake until nice in color. Perfect for treating kids to their favorite dinner in the middle of the week even for a busy mom/ dad or for throwing a no hassle BBQ party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Whole family just LOVED these!! I cut the recipe in half and only thing I changed was cooking method. I didn't grill them, after cooking them with water and vinegar for an hr. and making the sauce, I marinated the ribs in the sauce for about 1-1/2 hrs. Then baked them in the oven on 350 covered for 45min, then uncovered for 10min. They came out PERFECT!! Meat just about fell off the bone and the sauce is wonderful!! The hot pepper sauce was hardly noticed so I might add just a little more next time (hubby likes spicey foods). These would be excellent for a barbecue get together!! Thanx for the great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I fancy myself a good bbq'er, and am always open to new ideas and techniques. My Dad taught me everything I know, and I've read and experimented like mad to get better. So when I sprung this little ditty on him, and his comments ranged from "You got a good scald on that!" to "Forward this recipe to me please? That was good!" I knew I had a winner! Given the time to do this properly, this stuff came out DELICIOUS!!!! Pork was just falling off of the bones! I used country style ribs, added 20 minutes on the oven time due to thickness of the meat, and added in about 1/4 cup more brown sugar to give the pork a sweeter, thicker taste. You cannot go wrong on this! Wonderful dish! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
We loved this recipe, the ribs were tender and we like them that way! The only thing I changed was added a little onion powder to the sauce and a little bit more brown sugar. This was wonderful Boo! Thanks for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Great to bake ahead of time and grill whenever the bbq was ready - after appetizers and drinks were going,so I could appreciate the guests. Everyone wanted the recipe from the person in charge of the actual fire (the boyfriend). Note: behind every good man - he got all the credit but I got to relax let him enjoy the praise. Got more ribs to make the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
The sauce for this recipe is fabulous! It was great to use everything right out of my pantry, I even added a little (2T) maple syrup to give a extra sweetness. I had bought some spare ribs on sale and wanted an easy recipe for them and this was it. My only complaint was the meat I bought was still tough after baking first for an hour, then grilling. We put the ribs back into a covered roaster pan, poured the remaining sauce over, then baked again for another hour at 300 degrees. YUM! YUM! I'm sure baby-back ribs are more tender to begin with than spare ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
FANTASTIC!! My husband and I tried these. They were wonderful and full of flavor. We made 1-1/2 times the sauce for 8 lbs. of ribs. Added a little more brown sugar. After the required grilling time, my husband wrapped each rack of ribs in heavy duty foil and put back on the top grill to steam for a few minutes. Let sit in the foil for about 15 minutes before cutting. They were fall off the bone good!! Being from the Lone Star State, I was a little skeptical about all the pre-cooking in the oven, but it was wonderful and didn't take 6-8 hours like we are used to! Thanks Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Finally a BBQ sauce that's not too vinegar-y! I made boneless country ribs, and they were delicious! The sauce is wonderful and could be used for many different dishes. Thanks for a BBQ sauce that beats all others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Wonderful! We loved them. Found a great new way to cook ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I had never cooked ribs before and I followed this recipe to a tee and they got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States