Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
The duel preparation from the oven to the grill locked the flavor in the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
My guests thought I had slaved all day and couldn't believe I made BBQ sauce from scratch. I didn't tell them how incredibly easy this delicious dish was to make! Prep time is very quick, but you have to stick around for an hour to stir the sauce occasionally as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
These ribs were great. They were juicy and tasty and did not take long to make. The sause is probably one of the best ones that I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
We loved this recipe, the ribs were tender and we like them that way! The only thing I changed was added a little onion powder to the sauce and a little bit more brown sugar. This was wonderful Boo! Thanks for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
FANTASTIC!! My husband and I tried these. They were wonderful and full of flavor. We made 1-1/2 times the sauce for 8 lbs. of ribs. Added a little more brown sugar. After the required grilling time, my husband wrapped each rack of ribs in heavy duty foil and put back on the top grill to steam for a few minutes. Let sit in the foil for about 15 minutes before cutting. They were fall off the bone good!! Being from the Lone Star State, I was a little skeptical about all the pre-cooking in the oven, but it was wonderful and didn't take 6-8 hours like we are used to! Thanks Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I fancy myself a good bbq'er, and am always open to new ideas and techniques. My Dad taught me everything I know, and I've read and experimented like mad to get better. So when I sprung this little ditty on him, and his comments ranged from "You got a good scald on that!" to "Forward this recipe to me please? That was good!" I knew I had a winner! Given the time to do this properly, this stuff came out DELICIOUS!!!! Pork was just falling off of the bones! I used country style ribs, added 20 minutes on the oven time due to thickness of the meat, and added in about 1/4 cup more brown sugar to give the pork a sweeter, thicker taste. You cannot go wrong on this! Wonderful dish! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These ribs rule! Guess I should have known by the name. I had country style ribs so I cooked mine in the vinegar 20 minutes longer per another reviewer's suggestion. Finished them in the oven with the heavenly sauce on 375% for 12 minutes each side. My three year old couldn't get enough. We will definitely make these again. Thanks, Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Really easy-to-follow and even easier if you use store bought BBQ sauce. I like to substitute Balsamic vinegar, but would encourage everyone to experiment with your favorite flavoured vinegars. It gives the ribs a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Wow, these were delicious. The only changes I made were, I left my spareribs in the oven for an extra 20 minutes and I thickened the sauce with 2 T. cornstarch. We just prefer a thicker sauce. Definitely will be using this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing. Wish I could of given it ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Perhaps this recipe would be great for those who need ribs on the same day (or within a couple of hours), but as far as great ribs are concerned, they fall short. The flavor just does not permeate the meat enough to be great ribs. Marinating for a significant time is a must! On the other hand, I found the sauce to be delicious. It certainly is a great finishing sauce. Bravo to that! Like a previous reviewer, I doctored it up with a bit of onion powder to perfect it, but do as you choose. The author tells you to use baby back ribs. I would recommend sticking to baby backs, and make sure that you peel the tough membrane off! If you choose to use spareribs, cut the skirt running across the top of the meat. That piece is pretty tough. I'm going to try this recipe again, but this time with marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States