Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I never made ribs before trying this recipe, but I followed the suggestion in OSORKIN's review to bake with added spices for 45min., then remove the foil and continue baking until the liquid evaporates. Hubby finished them on the grill the next day, and everyone raved! Prebaking allows them to cook long enough so that they are not tough, as has been the case when our friends have tried making ribs at home! A huge success for us with our guests! Thank you for helping to make us look like amazing cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are amazing! I chose the hottest day of the year to make ribs, and I wasn't about to die outside grilling, so I just baked them. Heeded the warnings about them being "Too Vinegar'y" and only filled the 1/3 measuring cup about halfway with the Red Wine Vinegar. In the water / vinegar mix, I added 2 bay leaves and garlic powder. (Baked just short of 2 hours, uncovering after an hour and basted a couple times). For the sauce, I also cut the white vinegar to about 1/3 cup, used SPICY BROWN mustard, and instead of hot pepper sauce, I used a pinch of Penzey's Hot Cajun season, then added 2 tbs honey. Baked for about 45 minutes more, basting a couple of times with sauce (and added a bit of Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy, as well). WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was SO much better than the "Barbecue Ribs" recipe I tried on this site. This recipe is tangy and not TOO sweet, like the other recipe. If you don't like "candied meat" then this recipe is for you. Great base for the sauce, you can add whatever spices or heat you prefer. I used raspberry red wine vinegar instead of cider. I didn't have cider vinegar and I wanted to get rid of the raspberry vinegar. I added garlic powder, smoked paparika I bought from a gourmet store, and a few dried hot peppers. I also boiled the ribs for an hour and skipped the vinegar baking step. They were a hit with my family! For those that complained the sauce is too thin, just simmer for awhile on the stove with no lid on the pan. I changed a few things, but I'm sure it would still be great if followed exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I was looking forward to this recipe. I feel a big let down. My ribs turned out tough. I've tried many rib recipes from this site. I like vinegar but there was way too much! The kids were saying it smelled bad. The sauce did not thicken, it was runny and bland. I think that seasoning the ribs, also maybe rapping them individually in foil would help the flavor and toughness issues. Sorry... I generally hate giving bad reviews. This one wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I use the bbq sauce recipe part of this recipe as my base. I add 2 tablespoons of honey, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, Minced onion and instead of the called for mustard I use 1 tablespoon of prepared ground mustard. This is a basic flavorful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
this was my first shot at ribs, I made them for the mother and mother-to-be on mother's day and they said that I was hosting the dinners from now on..lol..the only thing to note was that when I adjusted the recipe for 6lbs of ribs...the amount of BBQ sauce I made was waaaay more than we needed...I had no clue what to do will all that BBQ sauce!!! I double checked the recipe to make sure we weren't supposed to cook the ribs in the sauce, found out we weren't. I used it to baste repeatedly and even put the ribs on a platter and then poured it over, and I still had more than half the amount...the food itself though was absolutly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was good. I thought the sauce was a bit too sweet for my husband's taste but he didn't seem to think so. Not sure I would make this again, the sause was a bit time-consuming and you can buy great BBQ sauce bottled these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
yum yum yum. Like others, I didn't grill them, just baked them for about two hours in the vinegar/water and then another hour in the sauce. I also reduced the vinegar and it was still on the edge of being too vinegar-y. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
too much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel' Stroganoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Mmm Mmmm! This is the very best Southern BBQ I've ever tasted! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled Kiwi & Chili-Rubbed Short Ribs

See how to make a quick-and-easy rub for grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States