Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Super recipe! Like others I deviated a little from the recipe as published. To start with, the bbq sauce tasted a little too tangy for me so I added more brown sugar. Next I baked the ribs for one hour in the water/red wine vinegar. After removing the ribs from that liquid, I let them marinate in 2/3rds of the bbq sauce for 1 1/2 hours like someone else posted. I then baked the ribs for one more hour in the bbq sauce with a foil cover. Then kicked the oven up to 450 and baked the ribs for an additional ten minutes uncovered. They were so good and had the coloring was perfect. The ribs had great flavor and were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrialByFire
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Fab, Fab, Fab. These are the best ribs ever. I have been trying alot of recipes and these are by far the best. I had an appointment and left them in the oven about 45 min. longer than recipe said and they were falling off the bone. It still worked. My husband loved them. I did add a little onion and garlic powder to the sauce. Delicious!!! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tuolumne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Wonderful - the best ribs recipe I have tried so far. Tastes almost the same as the ribs from our favourite restaurant. I did use a slow cooker for a couple of hours instead of baking the ribs but made the sauce as written. If you are looking for great ribs make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The Best! I've cooked and rated 12 other rib recipes from this site and have given 7 of them five stars and this one joins them - my guy says that this is the best for a southern bbq flavor and I have to agree. I followed the directions for the sauce exactly. Since I wasn't grilling I followed suggestions of others. I baked ribs for 45 minutes as directed. Then marinated the ribs for 1 1/2 hours in 3/4 of the sauce, reserving some for basting. I baked ribs covered for 45 minutes, basting occasionally - broiled ribs for 10 minutes at the end. We are having them again next week-end! Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is amazing! My friends all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
While the flavor was good, you just will not get tender ribs in 45 min plus some grill time. I think I am spoiled with my 7 hour smoked ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The only bad thing about this recipe is that the ribs are gone too fast. If the meat wasn't delicious enough, the sauce made up for it. We made double the sauce and saved it to marinade chicken, pork chops and other meat. Definitely do this because it's even better after letting the flavors sit for a little while. I did take all of the advice of previous users by adding garlic, bay leaf and salt to the roasting with the ribs. I also then put them in the oven at even lower temp and let them cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, threw them on the grill fully basted...the meat just fell off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Tasty however a bit dry. It may be me and not the recipe though that caused this. I still have not mastered the art of making juicy ribs outside of the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My mother was bugging me about how to cook the ribs she got, I found this recipe and I am very pleased! I didnt have 2 roasting pans, so I just cut the 2 slabs and put it into 1 pan with the vinegar mixture, added a bit of liquid smoke and basted a bit more often than once. The sauce was terrific! I was running low on reg. mustard so I substituted Stadium Ballpark Mustard (only made in Ohio)and also added liquid smoke. The sauce came out nice and tangy, but not too sweet or hot (Im a spicy lover but everyone here is not) Used with a cheap cut of ribs so the meat wasnt as tender as I had hoped, but the way they were cooked made all the difference. My picky 6 year old even ate them. RAVE REVIEWS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Awesome ribs! We were skeptical of the BBQ sauce, but when it was all done and on the ribs it was great. I will probably use the sauce recipe for chicken in the future. We will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States