Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I modified this slightly, adding scotch and molasses were the main changes. I also baked the ribs longer than 45 minutes. I left them in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIXLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I loved this sweet sticky sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Absolutely perfect! My husband usually complains that bbq sauces are too sweet or too smokey but this one was just right. This recipe will definitely be the only one I use for bbq from now on. I have some left over sauce which I will use on grilled chicken tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I used pork spareribs for this and they were GREAT!! Baked them for an hour and then grilled them. Next time I think I will use two racks of ribs... so we have more leftovers (don't need to double the sauce though). Hubby also suggested that next time I add a touch more spice to them. But overall, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but of course, had to add just a little something extra. I added more brown sugar and used rice vinegar in the sauce instead of cider. Ribs had an excellent taste but were close but not fall off the bone tender. I think next time I would bake a bit longer in the vinegar marinade and at a lower temperature first. We loved them though and are a definite do again! They looked picture perfect coming off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were good, but not fantastic. Having never made ribs before I followed the recipe exactly... I used boneless pork ribs... maybe with a bone they'd be better. Still found them kind of dry... The BBQ sauce was yummy though, but probably could have used just a bottle of any kind and it would have had the same results...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is the BEST bbq sauce I have ever TASTED. We used a smoker box with wood chips in the grill to give it that perfect smoked flavor. I was shocked the ribs were so delicious with such a short cooking time, but they WERE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was fabulous, and flexible. I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I substituted red wine vinegar with no problem. Also, I'm not a fan of spicy stuff, so I didn't have any hot sauce in the house. I did squeeze some honey into the bbq sauce. I made half the bbq sauce and it was plenty for 3 pounds of ribs. Because of my work schedule, I cooked as the recipe said for 45 minutes on 350, but I had to wait to put it on the grill. So I turned down the oven to 200 and left the ribs in there, covered for probably 1 /2 to 2 more hours. It worked fine. When this came off the grill it was sticky, chewy, crunchy on the outside, tender and juicy on the inside and absolutely NOT dried out! PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Yum! Followed recipe exactly. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was good right out of the printer! I have always basted my ribs in the vinegar solution in the oven, so that was pretty much a given. This sauce is fantastic, although I am not a friend of spicy. I made one batch spicy, and one batch for wimps like me. The sauce is also fabulous for BBQ chicken, or brushed on burgers. Haven't tried it on salmon yet.....hmmmmmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States