Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I decided to try this rib recipe on the spare ribs i'd just bought, because i didnt want to soak overnight. Everything was going fine . . until it decided to rain. I tried to light the charcoal anyways, but no luck. So I cooked them under the broiler at 325 -- FANTASTIC! Even my very picky 8 yo son decided it was "ok" and then asked for extra sauce! DH, who is canadian and doesnt much like BBQ, said it was quite good. And my daughter, who is always asking for ribs, was in 7th heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
These ribs were awesome!!!! They were tender and moist. I didn't have baby back ribs on hand so I used the country style ribs instead which have a lot of meat. I had enough to use on grilled chicken the following week. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECEIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This is the perfect bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Really quite good. I added 1 tsp. cornstarch mixed with 1 tsp. cold watter to the boiling sauce to thicken it up. Also, half way through the baking, instead of basting, I drained the vinegar and brushed on the bbq sauce for the last 20 minutes and recovered with the foil. This infused the flavor of the bbq sauce into the meat much better. The bbq sauce recipie makes enough for a second batch. Kids and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This is wonderful! The meat is just as tender as if you spent hours cooking it, and the sauce is probably the best I have ever made!! It is absolutely worth a try! Thanks for this new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
The sauce for this recipe is to-die-for! I let it simmer longer to thicken it up, but it is just the right amount of tangy-ness for ribs. This recipe takes some effort, but is great for a weekend barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Perhaps this recipe would be great for those who need ribs on the same day (or within a couple of hours), but as far as great ribs are concerned, they fall short. The flavor just does not permeate the meat enough to be great ribs. Marinating for a significant time is a must! On the other hand, I found the sauce to be delicious. It certainly is a great finishing sauce. Bravo to that! Like a previous reviewer, I doctored it up with a bit of onion powder to perfect it, but do as you choose. The author tells you to use baby back ribs. I would recommend sticking to baby backs, and make sure that you peel the tough membrane off! If you choose to use spareribs, cut the skirt running across the top of the meat. That piece is pretty tough. I'm going to try this recipe again, but this time with marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Wow, these were delicious. The only changes I made were, I left my spareribs in the oven for an extra 20 minutes and I thickened the sauce with 2 T. cornstarch. We just prefer a thicker sauce. Definitely will be using this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing. Wish I could of given it ten stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Really easy-to-follow and even easier if you use store bought BBQ sauce. I like to substitute Balsamic vinegar, but would encourage everyone to experiment with your favorite flavoured vinegars. It gives the ribs a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These ribs rule! Guess I should have known by the name. I had country style ribs so I cooked mine in the vinegar 20 minutes longer per another reviewer's suggestion. Finished them in the oven with the heavenly sauce on 375% for 12 minutes each side. My three year old couldn't get enough. We will definitely make these again. Thanks, Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States