Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I've been doing ribs by this method for years and you appreciate it even more in winter where grilling 5-6 hr ribs is not an option. (In winter, you would finish this recipe off topped with the sauce in a 450 degree oven instead of on the grill.) A few suggestions from my experience. I add a bit of liquid smoke to the vinegar mixture so that it permeates the ribs when baking (also throw in a few cloves of garlic, bay leaf, salt and pepper). I take off the foil after 45 minutes of baking but continue baking until the yummy liquid evaporates(the flavor gets more concentrated in the meat that way). The beauty is that this step can be done even a few days ahead. When done baking, I just let the ribs cool and refrigerate until I need them. Then, just take out 1 hr before party/ dinner, baste generously w/sauce and grill/ bake until nice in color. Perfect for treating kids to their favorite dinner in the middle of the week even for a busy mom/ dad or for throwing a no hassle BBQ party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
We do a lot of grilling and these were the best ribs we've ever made. Followed the recipe exactly with perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I prefer "fall off the bone" type of ribs. Next time I will boil them or bake at low heat until tender. But the sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is my first time cooking ribs and they were delicious. I followed the recipe to the "T" and they were every bit as good as any restaurant. I used about 3 lbs of ribs and it was enough for 2 of us. The meat fell off the bone. My husband said this was going to be a recipe that we'll use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This recipe was totally awesome! Best ribs we've ever made (or had, for that matter). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Thanks for the great recipe. Had this Father's Day for the first time and everyone just raved about it. Meat fell off the bone !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
AWESOME! This was my first attempt at preparing bb ribs. This recipe is very easy and very tasty. Even my gfriend loved it. ( She's not a big ribs fan ) For the Sauce: I left it simmer for 2 hours instead of 1 and added a 2 tablespoon of butter to thicken it a little. I have also added 3 tablespoons of maple syrup to bring an additional woody kick to it. TRY THIS, a day earlier bathe a wooden plank (20"x10")of any hardwood in water. (I use pine) Start the grill, place the plank in it for 10 minutes and then place your ribs on it for 7 minutes each sides. Then remove the plank and cook another 7 minutes on each sides directly on the grill. IT'S AMAZING !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this last night and it was a huge hit at my house. Im a college student with not a lot of cooking experience I pulled this one of perfectly! The recipe makes a lot of sauce so it could be used again on chicken or something. It wasnt spicy or anything either. Will be making this again soon! (I made it with spare ribs and it took the same amount of time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Outstanding! The sauce was good and we added a bit extra hot sauce. I was skeptical when I took them out of the oven before basting on the grill because they didn't look that appetizing, but once the sauce was on them they were excellent and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I thought this was great. I've never made ribs before and these were absolutely wonderful. The sauce was just delicious. I did not cook them on the grill as long was suggested. I would highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisafer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States