Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
These ribs were fall off the bone, can't get enough, GREAT!!! Will definitely use this recipe often. My only complaint was in regard to my hubby who misunderstood my instructions and put the bbq sauce mixture in the pan with the ribs so had no bbq to marinate with when grilling, but they were awesome without the sauce and my picky girls who won't eat bbq sauce, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Really a wonderful recipe! I used a tad more brown sugar in mine as the sauce was a little too vinegarey for my taste... but the extra brown sugar took care of that. I've made this twice and it's a huge hit at our house. I've passed it on to many friends. Thanks! Just know that the sauce is quite thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I added 1/2 cup Merlot and two cloves of garlic to the vinegar/water mixture, and marinaded it over night. The next day,I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Our guests are still talking about this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This was fabulous! I followed the directions fairly closely, just utilized a few of the suggestions made by osorkin-added some garlic cloves and liquid smoke to the marinade. Very, very tender ribs and sauce with loads of flavor. We loved it and our kids (6 & 9) did as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
AWESOME!! That is what it is! It is now a permanent family favorite. I had some fun and added a 1/2 cup honey and two tsp cornstarch with two tsp water and it gave it zing! The consistency is perfect. I am so glad to have found this recipe. It is also perfect on chicken as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Very good and easily adaptable! I used less than three lbs and found 1/2 of the sauce to be plenty. Otherwise, I followed ingredients exactly and LOVED them. Next time I will play with the sauce a bit. I encourage you to make it by recipe first though because it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These are absolutely delicious! Melt-in-your mouth. In fact, they fell apart on the grill they were so tender. A keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Very, Very good. Second time I cooked ribs slower at 300 basted 3 times. Also cut down vineger in BBQ sauce. I increased amounts by 1.5 times the reciped but left vineger at original amount. Was awesome! Sweet, Tangy ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I've been doing ribs by this method for years and you appreciate it even more in winter where grilling 5-6 hr ribs is not an option. (In winter, you would finish this recipe off topped with the sauce in a 450 degree oven instead of on the grill.) A few suggestions from my experience. I add a bit of liquid smoke to the vinegar mixture so that it permeates the ribs when baking (also throw in a few cloves of garlic, bay leaf, salt and pepper). I take off the foil after 45 minutes of baking but continue baking until the yummy liquid evaporates(the flavor gets more concentrated in the meat that way). The beauty is that this step can be done even a few days ahead. When done baking, I just let the ribs cool and refrigerate until I need them. Then, just take out 1 hr before party/ dinner, baste generously w/sauce and grill/ bake until nice in color. Perfect for treating kids to their favorite dinner in the middle of the week even for a busy mom/ dad or for throwing a no hassle BBQ party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
We do a lot of grilling and these were the best ribs we've ever made. Followed the recipe exactly with perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States