Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
If you like a sweet & tangy BBQ then this is a recipe for you! The sauce is not thick and sticky and coats the meat wonderfully. This is a very versatile recipe. I did not have all the ingredients and had to make some substitutions: Chicken Worcestershire instead of regular Worcestershire, White Vinegar instead of cider vinegar, sugar and molasses instead of brown sugar. The only regret I have is the Chicken Worcestershire. Regular Worcestershire would have contributed more depth to the flavor of the sauce. But despite that regret, the sauce was very yummy indeed. My only quibbles with the recipe are with the cooking on the grill. Because the BBQ sauce has such high sugar content I would not advise coating the meat with sauce before putting it over the coals. The sugar can easily burn. Also, the cooking time on the grill is too long (or my coals were way too hot.) I would keep an eye on the ribs and pull them once they browned to your taste. Generously apply the BBQ sauce after the ribs are finished cooking. If you would like to caramelize the sugars in the BBQ sauce, let each side cook for a minute or two but watch closely to prevent the sauce from charring. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It ended up being just okay. The auce was way too thin and tangy for my taste. The meat turned out pretty good, but I just expected so much more, especially after reading the other reviews. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
AMAZING....my husband made these last night for dinner....so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Scrumptious! I served it over rice. The sauce was to die for! If nothing else..save the recipe for homemade BBQ sauce that can not be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very, very good! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the sauce is too tangy and vinegary as written. I added a good sized glug of honey, and another large spoonful of brown sugar, and it was perfect. Yummy, fall off the bone goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe was good but I had to change several things. I used country style spareribs so I doubled the cooking time. The sauce tasted too much like vinegar after simmering for a half hour, so I added more hot sauce, more brown sugar and honey. I also added seasonings to give it spicier taste. I grilled the ribs on an indoor grill and just long enough to get grill marks. After all the changes, it was much better. If I used this recipe again, I would definitely cut down on the amount of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Drums, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was my first attempt at making ribs, and I was afraid my husband was going to eat the bones. They were absolutely delicious. The sauce was exactly how I like it, not to sweet and not to sour. I followed the recipe, it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryallweighs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
What a great recipe! I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out delicious! I have never made ribs, so for a first try I was quite pleased. Not too big of a mess and the sauce was perfect. Make sure you simmer the sauce for the full hour and it will come out a nice consistency. I halved the recipe and it was enough for 3 adults, with side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I just finished with this recipe. I have to say some of the best ribs I have ever eaten.I was born in Fla and now live in NH . I remember that vinegar grilled sothern BBQ. MMMMMM so good. I only had one rack of ribs so I had plenty of extra sauce. In fact tonight I prepared some chicken in the exact same way and used the extra sauce. The chicken was not as good as the ribs but nothing is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Excellent and easy recipe. I baked the ribs about 40 min. longer in the oven as I like my ribs tender. I used to marinade my ribs with a rub over night and then bake them for 6 hours in the oven-that is A LOT more work than this recipe which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States