Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe. I left out the bacon but added Parmesan cheese and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I cooked it as written and it was tasty but too much for my children. They picked out the potatoes but ate everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I just made these for the Steelers game today, lots of Southern food on the menu, and these beans are going to be a huge hit - I've never made beans and potatoes before but I will definitely be making these again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I've always been intimidated by using fresh green beans but had some that needed used up and company coming for dinner. All the reviews had me convinced I could pull it off and boy did everyone go wild for them! I was out of bacon and used diced russet potatoes, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I can't wait to try it again with bacon (because bacon makes EVERYTHING better)! Grandma said that she'd like me to bring it for the next holiday dinner - ITS THAT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good. Didn't have the balsamic and still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great! For my family of 4, I cubed 1 medium russet potato and left the skin on. I simmered it in 1/2 cup chicken stock until tender, then added frozen, French-cut green beans and a handful of real bacon bits from my giant Costco bag. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Really good! I personally think it could have done without the bacon and been just as tasty, for you vegetarian types. But then maybe it wouldn't have been southern :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
The only way my family likes fresh green beans. I only make this when there are fresh green beans from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie5576

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This recipe is full proof - trust me, because I cook! Now, if you want to deviate just slightly, everything is right on with cooking the bacon, throw in the onion near the end and then toss in the garlic. Here's the shortcut I found that saves a huge amount of time, when everything else in the pan is ready, throw the raw green beans in there and turn the burner on high - add a 1/4 cup water and put the lid on. Watch it some and if the water gets low, check the beans for doneness if they're still firm, add more water, stir and put the lid back on. you'll have perfect and enviably beans every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My family loved these green beans!! I didn't have white balsamic so I just used regular. They are fantastic!! I did cook them for about 30 minutes, as my family doesn't like super crunchy green beans. Thank you for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States