Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is very similar to a dish I've done for years, but I suggest adding some pecans just before finishing (so they're still a bit crunchy), to really make this Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very yummy. I cut the potatoes into small cubes and oven roasted them seperately first after shaking them in seasoning and olive oil first. That way they were a bit crunchy. I also cut the beans into bit size pieces so it would be easier to eat. It was delicious! People went back for seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
labor intensive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I don't really like green beans, but this was so good I had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Used Turkey Bacon instead of regular bacon and EVOO instead of butter...Yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious vegetarian option with small changes. I omitted the bacon and substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth. Love the kick of the balsamaic vinegar. Used finger potatoes and green bean from the farmer's market. I used olive oil to saute and did throw the green beans in with the onion for the last 5 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
My family thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
First time making this dish. It was recommend to use brown sugar, it was perfect. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Great flavors. I followed the ingredients exactly but I did have to add more broth as others said, and I kept 1/2 of the bacon for garnish. Served this dish with Sylvia's Ribs recipe and they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utahnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have never written a review on anything yet, but this recipe is great. I did change only one thing, instead of 1/4 cup of broth I used 1 cup. I would highly recommend this recipe to anybody and I already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States