Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
My family thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
First time making this dish. It was recommend to use brown sugar, it was perfect. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Great flavors. I followed the ingredients exactly but I did have to add more broth as others said, and I kept 1/2 of the bacon for garnish. Served this dish with Sylvia's Ribs recipe and they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utahnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have never written a review on anything yet, but this recipe is great. I did change only one thing, instead of 1/4 cup of broth I used 1 cup. I would highly recommend this recipe to anybody and I already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
My family loves this! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Everyone at dinner loved this recipe. I used 1/2 a walla walla sweet onion instead of the red. It also took longer than the recipe stated to get the vegetables tender. I just kept added a little more chicken broth until they were done. Thanks for sharing. We really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Super easy and delicious. Used about a cup of broth. I can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe! After cooking the bacon, I removed the bacon grease and cooked everything in the same pan. I had to add more than the 1/4 cup of chicken broth as mine quickly cooked down. I accidentally forgot to add the vinegar, but think this would be a nice addition. DELICIOUS! I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't think this had much flavor. I added a little extra bacon and even cooked the onions in leftover bacon grease instead of the butter just to add a little more flavor. I used frozen green beans because I didn't have fresh, which worked fine, but the potatoes took forever to cook and I had to add more chicken broth because it cooked up before the potatoes were done. I timed my meal so that this was the last thing to be ready, but it took so much longer than the recipe suggested, we ate the rest of the meal without this on the table. I finished it afterwards. I cut the potatoes up very small, so I'm not sure what happened? Don't know if I will try this one again, but thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made this for my family and there was nothing left when we finished dinner. I think next time for my crew I will use 2-3 less potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States