Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
As others noted, I sauted my potatoes, onions, and garlic in a little of the bacon grease. (I probably drained off about 2/3rds of it.). Then added the beans and chicken broth, covered and cooked until the beans and potatoes were tender. I omited the vinegar, stirred in the crumbled bacon and served. It had a really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The star of the show! I added this as an afterthought at the family Christmas dinner, and it ended up being the favorite dish. Instead of the butter, I simply used the bacon grease left from cooking the bacon. I gave the potatoes and onions a little head start before adding the beans. I only thought I had a good green bean recipe before....now I KNOW I have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The green beans were very good and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynika Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Love this. I use precooked bacon from trader joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was just so incredibly bland. My husband and I agreed that it really didn't taste like anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I tried dumping out the bacon grease and replacing it with virgin olive oil to make it a little more healthy. I may keep a little bacon grease next time. Some seasoning salt instead of reg. salt did the trick! Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Hollins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This turned out much more intersecting than I anticipated. I left the bacon in rather large pieces (1/2") so they were noticeable tasty bits. I also added a hot pepper from the garden that gave it extra zip. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I picked up a bird from Cosco and made this recipe to go with it. Subbed a white onion for the red. Easy and delicious, even though I forgot to add the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
grade A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States