Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Being southern, when I first made this recipe I included the bacon grease for extra flavor but next time I'll drain it off. No need to fry up bacon, you could just use bottled real bacon bits. Also since the small new potatoes aren't used whole, they are diced, you could just use 3 or 4 regular size potatoes. Loved the balsamic vinegar in this. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Delicious, I just left the bacon grease in the pan and added about 1/3 as much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I cooked this as a side to a pot roast and everyone loved this dish. I had to add a little more chicken broth, but it was delicious. The balsamic gives it a nice twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Shock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
A very good recipe! I made this as a side for Thanksgiving. It smelled wonderful when cooking and went very well with the meal. I needed to cook the green beans much longer than 10 minutes to make them tender, but as the potatoes cooked, some began to break down and thicken the sauce, which was a nice touch. I would prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
So good! I followed the recipe quite closely. Substituted a white onion for a red. I omitted the balsamic and felt no additional salt or pepper was needed. I believe the balsamic would have been too many competing flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were great, lots of flavor. Didn't put in the potatoes because I was serving baked potatoes and used plain white vinegar instead of the balsamic. Also used home canned green beans (drained). Just tossed them a bit to blend with the other ingredients while heating and they were ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Absolute hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is wonderful - tastes just like my Aunt makes (although she uses fresh from the garden!). I used white onion (didn't have red), extra chicken stock, and simmered longer. My BF didn't seem to appreciate it as much as I did, but there's no accounting for Northern taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I just love Southern cookin'! My husband says this is a "repeat" dish. I was worried at first that there wasn't much liquid to cook it in, but realized when it was ready that it wasn't supposed to be "soupy". Very yummy; very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very tasty and went well with my entree. Thank you for the recipe! Goes well with burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States